‘My Ireland’ is a poem by Stephen James Smith (you will know him from ‘Dublin You Are’, at least) commissioned for St. Patrick’s Festival set to visuals by Myles O’Reilly and music by Colm Mac Con Iomaire, Inni-K, Saint Sister, Loah, Ye Vagabonds. It was all produced, recorded and mixed by Conor O’Brien.

It’s a poem about the good, the bad and the ugly of Ireland: Savita, Magdalene laundries, Zig & Zag, Apollo House, thanking bus drivers, notions, Skelligs and Star Wars, Jobsbridge, The Fear, executions at Kilmainham jail, getting the ride in Copper Face Jacks. My Ireland “knows Dunphy is a spoofer”…

Let it wash over you.

Stephen James Smith is among the performers at Young Blood: The Beats and Voices of Our Generation which will also feature Rusangano Family, Emmet Kirwan, Hare Squead and more.


Written & narrated by Stephen James Smith
Filmed & edited by Myles O’Reilly
Produced, recorded & mixed by Conor O’Brien
Violin & bouzouki by Colm Mac Con Iomaire
Backing vocals by Morgan MacIntyre & Gemma Doherty (Saint Sister), Loah & Ye Vagabonds.
Harp by Gemma Doherty (Saint Sister)
Bodhrán by Stephen James Smith
Closing song Guí by Eithne Ní Chatháin (Inni-K)

Posted on February 15th, 2017


Artists: , , , , , , ,

Last week, Other Voices debuted their new podcast with performances and interviews with Jape, Nathaniel Rateliff, The Unthanks and more.

The second episode is out now and features Villagers, Colm Mac Con Iomaire, Wyvern Lingo & The Academic in conversaton with Philip King or Anna Job. Listen to it right here and come back tomorrow for a ticket giveaway to Other Voices in Dingle in December.

The songs featured:
Villagers – Nothing Arrived & Dawning On Me
Colm Mac Con Iomaire – Farewell To The Sea
The Academic – Different
Wyvern Lingo – Letters To Willow

VillagersElectric PicnicWyvern LingoHozierThe AcademicLetters To willowThe FramesColm Mac Con IomaireDifferentDawning On Me

Posted on November 22nd, 2015


Artists: , ,

The music industry showcases continue to roll on with Eurosonic in Gronigen in Holland and SXSW in Austin Texas coming up in January and March respectively.

As part of the second wave of announcements for SXSW, Rusangano Family, Girls Names, Enemies, Saint Sister and September Girls are in there among the international acts like Nao, Autre Ne Veut, Pixx, Mercury Rev, Blanck Mass, Ezra Furman, Menace Beach and Vant. The whopper Spotify playlist for all of them is here.

The Academic and Rosie Carney were previously announced.

For Eurosonic, the entire Irish contingent via the Music From Ireland party has been revealed and it features: Marc O’Reilly, Rusangano Family, Pleasure Beach, The Academic, Otherkin, The Hot Sprockets, Colm Mac Con Iomaire and The Young Folk.

These acts will be abroad looking to make moves to benefit their careers.

Posted on November 18th, 2015


Artists: , , , , , , , ,

The Dublin-based music distributor Indi Entertainment, which is owned and operated by RMG Chart Entertainment went into liquidation last week, meaning that a host of Irish artists and labels who used the company to distribute physical albums to the shops in recent months likely won’t receive any of the money owed to them.

These include Colm Mac Con Iomaire, The Frames, Gavin Glass, Oliver Cole, and Mundy. There are plans for a gig to help recoup these costs in the works but for now, if you want to help the artist, buy the album direct from them where possible with the links below:

Colm Mac Con Iomaire – Agus Anois an Aimsir

The Frames – Longitude

Gavin Glass – Sunday Songs 

Oliver Cole -Year of the Bird (Bandcamp)

Mundy – Mundy

Alien Envoy – Loads (Bandcamp)

Fiach Moriaty – The Revolution

Posted on August 17th, 2015

Artists: , , , ,

Ireland’s best music TV show Other Voices returns to screens this Sunday night for its 12th season on Irish TV. The season was shot in Dingle in December and Derry in February with the likes of The Gloaming, John Grant, Mogwai, Colm Mac Con Iomaire, Hozier, Polica, David Gray, George Ezra, Willis Earl Beal, Ásgeir and more showing on RTÉ Two over the next six Sundays.

The first programme features The Gloaming, East India Youth, Rosie Carney, Hozier, Slow Skies and more. It starts at 10:30pm tonight. Full schedule below.

My posts from each of the recordings are on the Other Voices blog.

All I’ll say is that The Gloaming is worth staying in for. Here’s a few previews from the show:

Other Voices Schedule

Programme 1 – 30th March

East India Youth
The Gloaming
Rosie Carney
The Clameens / Slow Skies

Programme 2 – 6th April

David Gray
Patty Griffin
Little Matador
Vann Music / Conor Walsh

Programme 3 – 13th April

George Ezra
The Amazing Snakeheads
Colm Mac Con Iomaire
Agnes Obel
Josef Salvat
Mojo Gogo / Pinhole

Programme 4 – 20th April

Public Service Broadcasting
John Grant
The Bohicas
Samantha Crain
Wonder Villains / Grim

Programme 5 – 27th April

Foy Vance
Bell X1
Lisa O’Neill
Other Creatures / Silences

Programme 6 – 4th May

Walking on Cars
Lulu James
David Arnold
Willis Earl Beal
Sive / Spies

Posted on March 30th, 2014


Artists: , , ,