Now Reading
Django Django enlist Self Esteem for the breakbeat-pop lead single ‘Complete Me’ from Off Planet album

Django Django enlist Self Esteem for the breakbeat-pop lead single ‘Complete Me’ from Off Planet album


Django Django announced the release a fifth album, to be released in four parts, called Off Planet that gets a full release on 16th June 2023 via Because Music.

The first part is out now, and each part is billed as a separate “planet”, and the Django Django co-founder Dave Maclean says it was “a way to go beyond, to bring new voices, new rhythms, new experimentation into play, and effectively to deconstruct the band’s identity.”

The first five songs and part one are out now, and the big one ‘Complete Me’ features the vocals of Self Esteem, listen to that breakbeat garage pop song (reminds me of producer Lone doing a pop production) here:

Rebecca Lucy Taylor is a friend of the band, Self Esteem released her first EP on Maclean’s Kick + Clap label, appeared on 2018’s Marble Skies and supported the band on tour.

Jack Peñate, Stealing Sheep, Toya Delazy are set to feature on an album that the presser says moves from “bluesy pop and Middle Eastern cabaret goth to Afro acid and piano rave, to call it kaleidoscopic is putting it mildly.” It’s a fresh sound for this band.

Listen to the five tracks of Off Planet Part 1

“The instrumental for Complete Me was made sometime in 2020 or 21 when the world was in lockdown and I was making music in my garden shed studio. It was a dance track that I didn’t really know what to do with. I sent it to Rebecca and she loved the vibe of it and really quickly came up with some vocal ideas that kind of stuck straight away and locked well with the track. The production was inspired by a lot of 90s breakbeat house and hip-house records that I’ve always been really into and loved Djing with over the years.”

Dave Maclean\


Off Planet full album tracklist:

  1. Wishbone
  2. Complete Me ft. Self Esteem
  3. Osaka
  4. Hands High ft Refound*
  5. Lunar Vibrations ft Isabelle Woodhouse
  6. Don’t Touch That Dial ft. Yuuko
  7. Back to Back ft. Patience
  8. Squid Inc 
  9. Come Down
  10. Golden Cross
  11. No Time ft. Jack Penate
  12. A New Way Through
  13. Galaxy Mood ft. Toya Delazy 
  14. The Oh Zone
  15. Dead Machine ft. Stealing Sheep
  16. Dumb Drum
  17. Fluxus
  18. Slipstream
  19. Who You Know ft. Bernardo
  20. Black Cadillac
  21. Gazelle 

Pre-order/ pre-save here

Support Nialler9 on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!