Now Reading
Gemma Dunleavy among recipients of the Markievicz Award 2021

Gemma Dunleavy among recipients of the Markievicz Award 2021


The 10 recipients of the Decade of Centenaries Markievicz Award bursary scheme for artists were announced today by Minister for Tourism, Culture, Arts, Gaeltacht, Sport and Media, Catherine Martin TD.

The Award is intended to support artists to develop their craft and ultimately produce great art that recognises and commemorates the role of women in the historical period covered by the Decade of Centenaries and beyond.

The 10 awards announced today go to:

Zoë Ashe-Browne (Dance)
Barbara Bergin (Theatre)
Ursula Burke (Visual Arts)
Gemma Dunleavy (Music)
Eleanor Hooker (Literature – English)
Oonagh Kearney (Film)
Louise Mulcahy (Traditional Arts)
Zoe Ní Riordáin (Theatre)
Jennifer Thorp (Literature – English)
Eimear Walshe (Visual Arts).

See Also

Awards under the scheme will be made each year in the period 2021-2023 to up to 10 artists (either individual artists working alone or in collaboration with others) – to a value of €25k per individual or group, an increase on €20k in previous years. The Department is partnering with the Arts Council on the administration of the scheme

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.

Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers, and be a key part of the music community in Ireland and abroad.

Become a patron at Patreon!