Now Reading
New Music Friday Edit: James Vincent McMorrow, Darkside, Berwyn, Sinead O’Brien, Leon Vynehall & more

New Music Friday Edit: James Vincent McMorrow, Darkside, Berwyn, Sinead O’Brien, Leon Vynehall & more


It’s New Music Friday, which means there’s loads of new songs out. Here are the highlights of the day’s new tracks.

See the New Music section for individual posts on tracks featured this week.

Darkside – ‘The Limit’

Dave Harrington and Nicolas Jaar have announced the release date for the second Darkside album Spiral and it’s July 23rd, through Matador.

James Vincent McMorrow – ‘Waiting’

James Vincent McMorrow has released an acoustic-lead single and announced his new album Grapefruit Season, out on Columbia Records on July 16th. Pre-order.

Berwyn – ‘100,000,000’

The first new track from Berwyn since last year’s mixtape.

Sinead O’Brien – ‘Kid’s Stuff’

Sinead O’Brien’s particular brand of spoken word post-punk rock music doesn’t always chime with me, but I find the Irish London-based artist’s newest song ‘Kid’s Stuff’ packed with more dynamism than previous releases, and with a super video to go with it.

Holly Humberstone – ‘Haunted House’

Hotly-tipped UK singer-songwriter makes her major label debut with ‘Haunted House’.

Paddy Chambers – ‘Netik’

Paddy Chambers is an Antrim producer I featured in Irish tracks a while back, and he’s just dropped a three-tracker on Paradiso of confident dance music productions.

Zillas On Acid – ‘Sorry I Was In VR’

Nocturne dropped this new release from Philadelphia duo Zillas On Acid today, an acidy chugger with a great title.

Leon Vynehall – ‘An Exhale’

Another interesting preview from Leon Vynehall’s forthcoming album Rare, Forever (April 30th) which sounds like a synth sputtering into euphoric life.

Franc Moody – ‘Big Cheese’

Damn. Funk.

See Also

The Avalanches – ‘Since I Left You’ (Prince Paul remix)

The Avalanches are releasing a 20th anniversary version of their seminal debut album which will feature remixes by Cornelius, Edan, MF DOOM, Black Dice, Leon Vynehall, Stereolab and this curious Prince Paul version. The 4-LP vinyl version is €60 though.

Just Wondering – ‘F**K That’

The Dublin pop trio of Just Wondering follow up ‘Drive’ with vocals that utilise the same effect popularised by The 1975.

Milk. & Search Party Animal – ‘2.’

Speaking of The 1975, Milk. are a band that are no stranger to those tones and their collaboration with peers Search Party Animal continues that electronic pop vibe.

J Smith – ‘Blood Orange’ feat. NNIC

Former Gypsies On The Autobahn frontman James Smith follows up his debut solo single, February’s ‘Im Sorry’, with another NNIC vocal contribution on a lilting Radiohead-esque track.

1000 Beasts – ‘For You & I’ feat. Alex Tierney

A fine collab between Cork producer 1000 Beasts and singer-songwriter Alex Tierney.

Nialler9 Weekly Playlist:

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.
Become a patron at Patreon!