Now Reading
Hear the new Little Green Cars single ‘The Song They Play Every Night’

Hear the new Little Green Cars single ‘The Song They Play Every Night’


It’s been a couple of years since we heard some new music from Little Green Cars. The Dublin band blew up with the release of their debut Absolute Zero came out in 2013 and remained on the road for most of the time since.

They were a young band then, and they’re still young, in their early 20s. New album Ephemera documents that time of growth into young men and women addressing two close deaths, relationship breakups and that time spent touring in between. The album, co-produced with Rob Kirwan gets a release on March 11th.

Promising a dozen songs of harmony-soak rock, principal co-songwriter Stevie Appleby says “it’s a transitional album. Lyrically, it’s all about change – the end of some eras, new beginnings, learning from the past and looking to the future. Ephemera means things that are important to you, but only for a short time. That could apply to music or relationships or even a particular day.”

‘The Song They Play Every Night’ certainly suggests an introspection with gently-formed acoustic instrumentation forming most of the sonics with lyrics culminating in “if you don’t love me now / you didn’t love me before.”

Little Green Cars play the following dates:

March 11th: Hoxton Bar and Kitchen
May 14th Cork Opera House – on sale today.
Sat July 23th – Iveagh Gardens Dublin

Little Green Cars Ephemera tracklisting

  1. The Song They Play Every Night
  2. You vs Me
  3. Easier Day
  4. The Garden of Death
  5. Brother
  6. Clare De Lune
  7. Ok Ok Ok
  8. The Party
  9. I Don’t Even Know Who
  10. Good Women Do
  11. Winds Of Peace
  12. The Factory

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.

Become a patron at Patreon!