, John Grant announces new album Grey Tickles, Black Pressure
Now Reading
John Grant announces new album Grey Tickles, Black Pressure

John Grant’s third album Grey Tickles, Black Pressure has been announced for release on October 2nd

The press releases references synthesizer merchants John Carpenter and Bernard ‘Black Devil Disco Club’ Fevre and suggests the album will be a mix of Grant’s electronic pop side and his ballad side. Guests include Tracey Thorn, Amanda Palmer and Banshees’ drummer Budgie.

The album was recorded in Dallas with producer John Congleton (St Vincent). “I wanted to get moodier and angrier on this record, but I probably had a lot more fun making it,” says Grant.

“‘Grey tickles’ is the literal translation from Icelandic for ‘mid-life crisis’, while ‘black pressure’ is the direct translation from Turkish for ‘nightmare’,” Grant who now lives in Iceland and is fluent in German, Russian and now, Icelandic.

Here’s the album trailer:

Grey Tickles, Black Pressure tracklisting

1. Intro
2. Grey Tickles, Black Pressure
3. Snug Slacks
4. Guess How I Know
5. You & Him
6. Down Here
7. Voodoo Doll
8. Global Warming
9. Magma Arrives
10. Black Blizzard
11. Disappointing
12. No More Tangles
13. Geraldine
14. Outro

John Grant European tour dates

Thursday 5 November – REYKJAVIK – Eldborg Harpa
Friday 6 November – REYKJAVIK – Eldborg Harpa
Monday 9 November – DUBLIN – Vicar Street
Tuesday 10 November – DUBLIN – Vicar Street
Thursday 12 November – LONDON – Hammersmith Apollo
Friday 13 November – BRIGHTON – Dome
Sunday 15 November – PARIS – La Cigale
Thursday 17 November – BRUSSELS – Botanique
Wednesday 18 November – AMSTERDAM – Melkweg
Friday 20 November – LUXEMBOURG – Den Atelier
Saturday 21 November – ZURICH – Kaufleuten
Sunday 22 November – MILAN – Fabrique
Tuesday 24 November – COLOGNE – Buergerhaus Stollwerck
Wednesday 25 November – HAMBURG – Uebel & Gefahrlich
Thursday 26 November – BERLIN – Postbahnof
Saturday 28 November – AARHUS – Voxhall
Sunday 29 November – COPENHAGEN – Store Vega
Tuesday 1 December – GOTHENBURG – Pustervik
Wednesday 2 December – STOCKHOLM – Sodra Teatern
Friday 4 December – OSLO – Cosmopolite
Saturday 5 December – BERGEN – Logen
Sunday 6 December – STAVANGER – Zetlitz

Support Nialler9 on Patreon