Now Reading
Miss Kate teams up with Mathman for music for her upcoming show; hear ‘Danger Lights’

Miss Kate teams up with Mathman for music for her upcoming show; hear ‘Danger Lights’

Ruth Cronin

Miss Kate AKA Kate Stanley Brennan is a Dublin hailing pop artist that is kicking off 2019 with a big show.

You might recognise her from appearances in theatre shows around the capital over the last few years such as Crestfall and The White Devil as well as stints in Fair City and Raw.

The multi-faceted artist is making her musical debut with ‘Danger Lights’, the first track to be released from her upcoming EP titled Walk For Me. Produced by MathMan, the song about self-expression through dance is not a free pass for consent and gives a good indication of what’s to come; metallic percussion lines meet bright bells and grainy synths underneath Brennan’s smooth vocals.

The EP is also the soundtrack to her self written show WALK FOR ME opening in The Project Arts Centre 17th Jan- 26th. It will feature performances from Miss Kate, Handsome Paddy as well as music from MathMan and Bobofunk. The show is a coming of age story and follows the protagonist’s quest for independence.

Miss Kate said of the show:

“Young girls’ relationships with sex are getting more and more extreme these days, but the way we, as women, have to manage and negotiate our way through the gauntlet of male hormones on a day to day basis is a tale as old as time… [the show] is a coming of age story which deals with the string of sexual encounters she experiences as she makes her first steps towards independence. She dreams of one day being a singer, but is crippled by self doubt. Desperate to free herself from home life, she pushes her self to the extreme.”

Tickets for WALK FOR ME are priced at €16+ here.

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.

Become a patron at Patreon!