Now Reading
New releases out this week: Gorillaz, Shame, Algiers, U.S. Girls & more

New releases out this week: Gorillaz, Shame, Algiers, U.S. Girls & more


Here’s a rundown of new releases on DSPs and physical releases in record shops this week.

New Albums

Gorillaz – Cracker Island

Eighth album from Damon Albarn’s cartoon band features Stevie Nicks, Adeleye Omotayo, Thundercat, Tame Impala, Bad Bunny, Bootie Brown, and Beck. Title track.

shame – Food for Worms

English post-punk band third record is out on Dead Oceans ahead of two Dublin gigs this March. ‘Adderall’

Algiers – Shook

Atlanta doom soul band’s new album features Zack De La Rocha, Billy Woods and Sam T. Herring.

U.S. Girls – Bless This Mess 

Eighth album by U.S. Girls , the nom de plume of North American multi-disciplinary and experimental pop artist Meg Remy was made around the same time Remy gave birth to twins, so album is said to be “a dynamic suite of dexterous melodies and a nuanced artistic response to the complexities of motherhood.” ‘Futures Bet’

Death Valley Girls – Islands in the Sky

LA’s scrappy rock n’ roll mystical band’s latest on Suicide Squeeze Records. ‘Islands in the Sky’

Tink – Thanks 4 Nothing

Chicago rapper who I’m fond of for releasing ‘Wanna Party’ with Future Brown back in the day.

Philip Selway – Strange Dance

When the Radiohead drummer approached some of his favourite musicians to play on his third solo record he said he imagined it as “a Carole King record if she collaborated with the pioneering electronic composer Daphne Oram and invited him to drum on it”. Guests include Hannah Peel, Adrian Utley, Quinta, Marta Salogni, Valentina Magaletti and Laura Moody. Title track.

The Strokes – The Singles, Vol 1

The Strokes are releasing a Singles Box costing €130+ today, which collates 10 7″ singles from their early work, into a volume 01. See tracklist.

Cola – Deep in View (Deluxe Edition)

Canadian post-punk band by two members of the band Ought. Bandcamp.

The Slow Readers Club – Knowledge Freedom Power

Manchester band release their sixth studio album whose music reminds me of Muse crossed with Duran Duran. ‘Modernise’

Don Toliver – Love Sick

Third studio album by American singer and rapper features production of by Boi-1da, James Blake, OZ and more. ‘Love Sickness’

Neutral Milk Hotel – The Collected Works of Neutral Milk Hotel

The Collected Works of Neutral Milk Hotel includes both of the group’s LPs—1996’s On Avery Island and 1998’s In the Aeroplane Over the Sea—as well as live recordings, alternate takes, unreleased material, and more.

Gruff Rhys – The Almond and the Seahorse OST

The 22-track album comprises original songs and instrumental score, all composed by Gruff Rhys. Recorded between 2021 – 2022 with a host of featured musicians including members of the National Orchestra of Wales, the music features throughout the forthcoming film of the same name, starring Charlotte Gainsbourg, Rebel Wilson and Celyn Jone. ‘I Want My Old Life Back’

Unloved – Polychrome

Unloved are Jade Vincent, Keefus Green and Da vid Holmes and this is their fourth record, influenced by French New Wave, ’60s girl groups and experimental electronic pioneers like Delia Derbyshire and Silver Apples. ‘I Did It.’


Dublin-based indie-dance electronic producer and singer-songwriter releases debut album. Bandcamp. As previously featured.

Dennis McNulty – SP, 2004

Cassette release on Diet Of Worms, document two (of five) space-specific sound-performances from Dennis as one of Ireland’s representatives at the 2004 São Paulo Bienal. All sound pieces were improvised by manipulating fragments of an acapella version of That’s Not Me from The Beach Boys universally acclaimed Pet Sounds album. Custom software was used to break up and layer looped fragments of the track, inserting rhythmic gaps into the flow of sound in order to make space for the performance space’s acoustics. The idea was to coax the space itself into the role of an explicit collaborator. The first took place at the parabolic modernist Baby Barioni swimming pool; the second, under Niemeyer’s Marquise, a huge concrete roof structure adjacent to the vast pavilion in Ibirapuera Park. Bandcamp.

Miss Grit – Follow The Cyborg

Debut album from alt- indie pop Brooklyn project from Korean-American musician Margaret Sohn. Title track.

Free Love – Inside

Scottish synth pop duo Lewis and Suzi Cook, FKA Happy Meals. ‘Open The Door’

EP & 12″ Releases

Channel Tres – Real Culture Shit EP

Channel Tres‘ house music with spoken word vocals and funk gets a 5-track EP. He’s coming here in March.

Support Nialler9 on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!