Now Reading
New releases out today: Yard Act, Schoolboy Q, Faye Webster, Fynch, Squarepusher & more

New releases out today: Yard Act, Schoolboy Q, Faye Webster, Fynch, Squarepusher & more


Here’s a rundown of new releases on DSPs and physical releases in record shops this week.

Nialler9 keeps a rolling list of Irish album releases here.

New Albums

Yard Act – Where’s My Utopia

Leeds indie-alt rock band’s second record was a co-production between Yard Act and Gorillaz member Remi Kabaka Jr. and it has a more indie-dance-boppy , less performative vibe than their guitar-lead debut.

The band play Dublin’s Vicar Street on 20th March 2024.

ScHoolboy Q – BLUE LIP

Sixth album from the rapper released on TDE features Rico Nasty, Devin Malik, Freddie Gibbs, Ab-Soul, Lance Skiiiwalker.

Faye Webster – Underdressed at the Symphony

The Atlanta singer-songwriter has blown up via Tik-Tok lately and plays two Dublin shows in May at Vicar Street and Button Factory. Lil Yachty features on ‘Lego Ring’.

Sheer Mag – Playing Favorites

‘Moonstruck’ is the sound of garage rock meets Jackson 5-style vocals, from the always reliable Philadelphia throwback power-garage-pop rockers Sheer Mag from their new album on Third Man Records.

Nils Frahm – Day

Produced on this one is by MGMT, along with Patrick Wimberly, Dave Fridmann, Daniel Lopatin (Oneohtrix Point Never) and Brian Burton (Danger Mouse). Christine & The Queens features. ‘Dancing In Babylon (feat. Christine and the Queens)’

Fynch – Youngfella

Drimnagh’s finest, the St. Pat’s supporting rapper releases his debut solo album via his own independent record label Burner Records. The album is “deals with a raft of issues which are directly impacted by Dublin’s housing crisis, with topics of emigration, nightlife, family, friendships and relationships all touched on throughout the album.”

Danny Carroll – I Am the Cheese

Danny Carroll’s new debut solo record was produced by Chris W. Ryan (New Dad, Just Mustard, Robocobra Quartet), with Silver Jews, Jonathan Richman, and Lee Hazlewood as stated influences. Danny is the is co-curator of A Litany Of Failures compilation series showcasing independent artists from across Ireland.


Naarm/Melbourne-based psychedelic jazz outfit release their third album and were announced for Another Love Story.

Jahari Massamba Unit – YHWH is LOVE

Karriem Riggins and Madlib revered producers and multi-instrumentalists  release their second album together as Jahari Massamba Unit.

Squarepusher – Dostrotime

IDM electronic jazz producer is back on Warp with another kaleidoscopic Amen Break frenzy of music making (with some solo bass and guitar pieces too). His sixteenth album and first since 2020’s Be Up a Hello.

THEE U.F.O – Beaming A Moments Reflection

Dublin garage-psych duo of Darragh Hansard & Beth Doyle release their second album. Album is launched on Saturday in the Cellar.

Nils Frahm – Day

A new collection of solo piano music, his first album since 2022’s three-hour Music For Animals.

Beans – Boots N Cats

Bright and scuzzy fuzz from Melbourne garage-psych band Beans on Fuzz Club. The band will release two albums in 2024.

Twin Headed Wolf – Altarwise

“Lyrical, twin-edged, harmony-ridden, experimental, scrap-yard folk… with a saw.”

An album lost in time. A lost treasure for the archives, Twin Headed Wolf’s album ‘Altarwise’ illustrates the first creative impulse of Branwen and Julie Kavanagh.

1000 Beasts – Burning Flower

The concept behind the 1000 Beasts is simple, one producer who writes and collaborates with a vast array of artists, creating music greater than the sum of its parts.

Second album from the Cork producer Cian Sweeney features alt-pop bright electronic collaborations with the likes of Malaki, Paco Versailles, Rachel Mae Hannon, Toucan and Tomike.

Mary & The Pigeons – Like Water

Second album release by critically acclaimed musician/curator Mary Barnecutt, a series of cello and atmospheric-based laments, including songs about traffic, lakes, rain and laundry. Drawing from her experience as a musician and creative writer Mary has imagined a vast and varied soundscape from piano and orchestral string arrangements to samples of page-turning and her hoover.

Fort Romeau – Romantic Gestures

8-track collection of singles released in the past 18 months from the producer.

Alex Eydt – Guardians

24-year-old Irish artist with influences ranging from Indie to hip-hop to dance, or Gorillaz to Nas to Justice, releases a debut avant-garde pop record.

New EPs

Chalk – Conditions II EP

Belfast post-punk/electronic band release their second EP on UK indie label Nice Swan. Features Fears on the track ‘Bliss’.

Fontainеs DC, Massive Attack, Young Fathers – Ceasеfire – EP

Fontaines DC, Massive Attack and Young Fathers a limited edition vinyl and art print in aid of Médecins Sans Frontières / Doctors Without Borders (MSF) to benefit the Palestinian people in Gaza and West Bank.

Daithí – Yellowbelt

Short soundtrack for a short film from Allyn Quigley from the Clare producer.

“We built a sound palette for the film using a beautiful 1960s synth called a Mellotron. It brings a woozy, hazy feeling to the music, which I think really adds to the strange nature of the comedy of the film. My favourite character in the film is Taekwondo instructor Master Lucey, and we built an over-the-top, war drum sound for his scenes.” 

Stupid Son – Comedy EP

A 7-track EP of lo-fi alt-rock from Dublin DIY punk band Stupid Son. ‘Black Mould’ is the sound held on a forgotten cassette or the pin badge on that cooler friend’s rucksack. The EP was recorded, mixed and mastered alongside the rest of the seven-track EP by Darragh Hansard (Thee U.F.O) in Orc’s Lair studios.

Alex Gough – To Some Degree EP

Waterford hip-hop artist and drummer’s new more emotionally-driven release “centres around reflection and as a result, acceptance. The tracks deal with varying situations, conflicts and memories as they are recalled.”

Trophy Wife – Showpony EP

Showpony is Trophy Wife’s second EP – a love letter to 70’s and 90’s rock & indie rock, inspired by her all time favourite lyricists Donald Fagen (Steely Dan), Carole King and Joni Mitchell.

Also released today

  • Ben Frost – Scope Neglect
  • Everything Everything – Mountainhead
  • Liam Gallagher & John Squire – Liam Gallagher & John Squire
  • Laurel Halo – Octavia
  • Mannequin Pussy – I Got Heaven
  • Master Peace – How To Make a Master
  • STRFKR – Parallel Realms

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.
Become a patron at Patreon!