Now Reading
Nilüfer Yanya announces new album Painless; hear ‘Stabilise’ from the record

Nilüfer Yanya announces new album Painless; hear ‘Stabilise’ from the record

Nilüfer Yanya has announced a second album to follow on from the excellent 2019 debut album Miss Universe and last year’s Feeling Lucky? EP.

Painless gets a release on March 4th on ATO Records and the album’s first song, the frenetic ‘Stabilise’ has arrived with a video by Nilüfer’s sister and creative collaborator Molly Daniel.

“It is a song about the mundanity of the city where dog fights, small flats, and endless high-rise buildings can induce claustrophobia. I was really thinking about your surroundings and how much they influence or change your perception of things. A lot of the city is just grey and concrete, there’s no escape. The video plays on the central theme in the song of no one coming to save you ever. It’s set in the depths of reality in everyday life where we are the only one’s truly capable of salvaging or losing ourselves. Nothing is out there -both a depressing and reassuring statement (depending on how you look at it). Sometimes you have to dress up as a spy or a rock star and just hope for the best.”

Nilüfer Yanya

Of Painless, the press release claims it takes a more direct sonic approach than the debut “narrowing down her previously broad palette to a handful of robust ideas that revolve around melancholy harmonies and looped industrial beats to mimic the insular focus of the lyrics.”

“It’s a record about emotion. I think it’s more open about that in a way that Miss Universe wasn’t because there’s so many cloaks and sleeves with the concept I built around it. I’m not as scared to admit my feelings”. 

Nilüfer Yanya – PAINLESS

1. the dealer

 2. L/R 

3. shameless

 4. stabilise 

5. chase me

 6. midnight sun 

7. trouble 

8. try 

9. company 

10. belong with you 

11. the mystic 

12. anotherlife

Support Nialler9 on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!