Now Reading
Pillow Queens announce debut album In Waiting and new song ‘Handsome Wife’

Pillow Queens announce debut album In Waiting and new song ‘Handsome Wife’


The PQs are back. Announcing their long-awaited (around these parts) debut album, Pillow Queens have shared a new single ‘Handsome Wife’.

The album In Waiting, out September 25th  on their own label, features previous singles ‘Gay Girls’, ‘Brothers’, and ‘HowDoILook’.

‘Handsome Wife’ is about the under-appreciated moments in life:

“Handsome Wife begins with a glimpse into an emotional homecoming, one that intensifies and romanticises the seemingly insignificant. Throughout, the mundane but tender moments are held up and deified, paying reverence to the ease in which a love can thrive outside the realms of tradition. The song continuously references structures and rituals that were once out of reach, but are now within our grasp. In spite of this Handsome Wife affirms that they pale in comparison to the communities we’ve built ourselves.”

Watch the video by Kate Dolan.

See Also

Pre-order the album with sweet merch direct from the artist.

In Waiting tracklist

1. Holy Show
2. Child Of Prague
3. Handsome Wife
4. HowDoILook
5. Liffey
6. A Dog’s Life
7. Gay Girls
8. Harvey
9. Brothers
10. Donaghmede  

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.
Become a patron at Patreon!