Now Reading
Policy – Postscript EP

Policy – Postscript EP


100% Silk pitches itself as a label of “diamond-life dance, bliss-disco and basement luxury grooves.” Essentially an off-shoot of Not Not Fun, Amanda and Britt Brown have released records from the weird and wonderful side of dance and electronic music. Lo-fi, otherworldly and underground are suitable characteristics from a label that has released records from Maria Minerva, Coyote Clean Up, Ital and Fort Romeau.

The Postscript EP, by Francis Hsueh AKA Policy is a fine fit then for the output of the label. Rooted in disco and house grooves, the six tracks from this Manhattan filmmaker turned musician are funky, deep and a bit jazzy all in one. It’s at it’s best when it hones in on vintage and visual details.

The standouts: ‘Wiseblood’ harks back to ’70s funk and pairs a warm bassline with shimmering phone-line synths, ‘Remembrance’ is nostalgic lounge-tinged house music and ‘Grove Street Freeze’ is stuck in a moment on a glittering dancefloor breakdown. ‘Postscript 187’ impresses with brass samples and Machinedrum-esque percussion while ‘Ghost In The Groove’ is a boogie.

The Postscript EP is evocative, breezed and elegant: a soundtrack to NYC nightlife and a worthy addition to the oddball disco discography of 100% Silk.

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.

Become a patron at Patreon!