Now Reading
Seven years on, Chromatics release a new album that’s not Dear Tommy

Seven years on, Chromatics release a new album that’s not Dear Tommy

Chromatics have released a brand new album, their first in seven years and surprise, surprise, it’s not the much-talked about and promised album Dear Tommy which was pushed back and delayed regularly since it was first announced.

One of the stories around the album is that Johnny Jewel “destroyed all physical copies of the album – apparently 15,000 CDs and 10,000 vinyl copies following a near-death experience whilst swimming in 2015 and he wasn’t happy with album he made.”

Anyway, we have a new Chromatics record! It’s called Closer To Grey and is their seventh album according to the band (so they are still counting Dear Tommy in absentia) featuring all new tracks, their first since Kill For Love.

Listen on streaming services or below:

Closer To Grey track list:

01. The Sound Of Silence
02. You’re No Good
03. Closer To Grey
04. Twist The Knife
05. Light As A Feather
06. Move A Mountain
07. Touch Red
08. Through The Looking Glass
09. Whispers In The Hall
10. On The Wall
11. Love Theme From Closer To Grey
12. Wishing Well

Chromatics play Vicar Street, Dublin on 22 October with Italians Do It Better friends Desire and are promising tracks from from their releases: Night Drive, Kill For Love, Cherry, & eh, Dear Tommy (presumably we’ll get some of Closer To Grey too. The gig will also feature visuals in the form of features films directed by Johnny Jewel mixed live by video artist Danny Perez (Antibirth, Panda Bear).

Support Nialler9 on Patreon!

Become a patron at Patreon!