Now Reading
Soulwax are releasing a 15 year anniversary edition of Nite Versions this week; hear a 14 minute version of ‘NY Lipps’

Soulwax are releasing a 15 year anniversary edition of Nite Versions this week; hear a 14 minute version of ‘NY Lipps’


Soulwax’s influential 2005 album Nite Versions is set to get a 15 year anniversary edition release this Friday November 27th.

The release will be digital this week with a new pink and white vinyl version to come. The album features a 14-minute rework of ‘NY Lipps’ made for Dries Van Noten 2020 Collection runway show featuring a spoken-word performance by LCD Soundsystem’s Nancy Whang.

“This particular collection was inspired by Fassbinder’s Querelle which contained the song Each Man Kills The Thing He Loves. We thought it would be fitting to use Nancy Whang who sang on the original, speaking the words to the Oscar Wilde poem in this version.”

Nite Versions is a remix album of the Soulwax release Any Minute Now.

Listen: Soulwax – ‘NY LIpps’ (Dries Van Noten 2020 Rework):

Additionally, Soulwax have reprinted their classic “If It’s Too Loud You’re Too Old,” T-Shirt, designed by the French graphic designer/animator and music producer So Me (aka Bertrand Lagros de Langeron). This t-shirt was originally made for the Radio Soulwax / Nite Versions tour.

“This album was our attempt at showing that even though we were seen as a revelation in dance music, we were rock kids playing in a rock band.  For a few of the singles we released off that album, we had asked other people to remix our tracks, but even though we liked them, we realised we wouldn’t play them in our own DJ sets. So, we decided to remix ourselves. Even though the name Nite Versions is a nod to the Night Versions remixes of the first Duran Duran singles which broke them in the US, conceptually our biggest influence was an album from 1982 called Love and Dancing by The League Unlimited Orchestra, which was essentially the hit album Dare by The Human League remixed by them and their producer in such a simple way that to this day still sounds more interesting than the original to us. The Nite Versions album only became an album after we had made a few of them for the single releases and we then realised we should remix the whole album which we did in a few weeks’ time in between our ever-increasing DJ touring life”

Nite Versions 15 Year Anniversary Edition Track List

01. Teachers

02. Miserable Girl

03. E Talking

04. Accident and Compliments

05. Compute

See Also
Nia Archives

06. Slowdance

07. I love Techno

08. Krack

09. NY Lipps (Kawazaki DUB)

10. Another Excuse (DFA Remix)

11. NY Lipps (Dries Van Noten 2020 Rework)

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.
Become a patron at Patreon!