Now Reading
The Mary Wallopers announce debut album; hear a new recording of ‘Cod Liver Oil + The Orange Juice’

The Mary Wallopers announce debut album; hear a new recording of ‘Cod Liver Oil + The Orange Juice’

Avatar

Dundalk trad folk heroes The Mary Wallopers have announced their debut album today, along with a new recording of ‘Cod Liver Oil + The Orange Juice’, the band’s first single first debuted here in 2019.

The self-titled debut album is out October 28th digitally & on CD then January 13th on vinyl on BC Records. The album features eleven tracks arranged by the band and recorded at Ailfionn Studios in Dublin with producer Chris Barry.

‘Cod Liver Oil + The Orange Juice’ is a Scottish song made popular by Hamish Imlach in the ’60s. It was written by Ron Clark and Carl MacDougal as a parody of the song ‘Virgin Mary Had A Little Baby’, which was big in folk scenes at the time.

The Mary Wallopers are Brothers Charles and Andrew Hendy and their friend Sean McKenna, augmented by a full live band.

Listen to ‘Cod Liver Oil + The Orange Juice’..

Listen also to ‘Frost Is All Over’

The Mary Wallopers artwork & tracklisting

  1. Eileen Óg
  2. Love Will Never Conquer Me
  3. Cod Liver Oil + The Orange Juice
  4. John O’ Halloran
  5. The Hackler From Grousehall
  6. Building Up & Tearing England Down
  7. Lots Of Little Soldiers
  8. The Night The Gards Raided Oweny’s
  9. The Frost Is All Over
  10. Butcher Boy
  11. All For Me Grog

Pre-order album.

The Mary Wallopers Irish tour dates:

Thu 17 Nov – National Stadium, Dublin
Thu 1 Dec – Set Theatre, Kilkenny
Fri 2 Dec – Cyprus Avenue, Cork
Sat 3 Dec – Royal Theatre, Casltebar
Sun 4 Dec – Haven Marquee, Dunmore East
Wed 7 Dec – Kavanaghs Bar & Venue, Portlaoise
Thu 8 Dec – Séan Óg’s, Donegal
Fri 9 Dec – Mandela Hall, Belfast
Wed 28 Dec – Mike The Pies, Listowel
Sat 31 Dec – Dolans, Limerick