Now Reading
Watch Róisín Murphy’s new video for ‘Fader’ shot in Arklow

Watch Róisín Murphy’s new video for ‘Fader’ shot in Arklow


Róisín Murphy has released the third single from her forthcoming album Hit Parade, which is produced by DJ Koze and is released on September 8th on Ninja Tune.

We’ve previously heard ‘CooCool’ and ‘The Universe’, and today the song ‘Fader’ has arrived with a music video shot in Murphy’s Irish hometown of Arklow, County Wicklow, featuring the Arklow Silver Band.

Watch the video:

Also users with Youtube Premium can watch a brief live stream and little performance from The Harbour Bar in Bray.

Pre-order the album.


1. What Not To Do
2. CooCool
3. The Universe
4. Hurtz So Bad
5. The House
6. Spacetime
7. Fader
8. Free Will
9. You Knew
10. Can’t Replicate
11. Crazy Ants Reprise
12. Two Ways
13. Eureka

Murphy is playing an open-air summer show at Trinity Summer Series on 2nd July 2023.

Murphy will also headline Alexandra Palace in London on February 17th 2024.

More about Róisín Murphy – ‘The Universe’

New single “The Universe” possesses an almost oceanic sway, able to comfortably exist in the blossoming, multi-sided world of ‘Hit Parade’, which we were initially introduced to with album first-look “CooCool”. A sun-dappled sonic exploration, “The Universe” is enamoured with gentle guitar melodies and sauntering electric piano, Murphy’s unmistakable voice waltzing through the track with an air of playful psychedelia, ducking and weaving with the beat across its temperate arrangement.

“The universe at large is playful and terrifying. There is no discernible sense to it. The story that is always being told is on multiple levels, levels we don’t see or understand. The experience of being alive is to be continually reminded of how utterly unaware we are of what is really going on all around us. ” – Róisín Murphy

See Also

With ‘Hit Parade’, Murphy continues her ever evolving, shape-shifting 30 year career, looking towards the future by joining forces with DJ Koze to conjure blissful music that teems with life and imagination. A hyper-modern record which is a world away from 2020’s critical and commercial success of “Róisín Machine”, it further cements Murphy as a total one of a kind at a creative peak, a constantly inquisitive and restless spirit who is unmatched.

The warm thump of hip-hop, playful psychedelia, and elegant soulful grooves are all part of Murphy and Koze’s vision here, resulting in a record that’s endlessly replayable even as its melodies become glued to your brain. The 13 indelible tracks that contribute to the album’s effortless sparkle were six years in the making, put together almost entirely remotely. Fans of both artists will know that this inspired collaboration was borne out of Murphy’s contributions to Koze’s 2018 “Knock Knock” -specifically, “Illumination” and “Scratch That”- and as Murphy worked with Koze on ‘Hit Parade’ she found their shared creative process revelatory in its own ways, all of which will become apparent.

“The Universe” follows the aforementioned “CooCool” and a limited edition white label release of “Can’t Replicate 12” Edit”, which ignited clubland at the start of the year, being championed by the likes of Daniel Avery, Peggy Gou, Jamie xx and many more. “Can’t Replicate” was also used as the soundtrack to the Chanel AW23 runway show during Paris Fashion Week in March.

The announcement of ‘Hit Parade’ arrives hot on the heels of electric PA sets at Boiler Room Paris and Printworks closing party, and Murphy’s sold out live-show at the historic Royal Albert Hall last week. Her idiosyncratic vision was brought to thrillingly vivid life within the storied surroundings, armed with a show stopping wardrobe and an electrifying, expanded live-band, including a new drummer, and camera’s recording and relaying her electrifying show in real time back to the fans. As the Evening Standard noted in a glowing review, it was “a very contemporary creative comeback….Murphy’s forays into future house, tropical rave, industrial ambience, space disco and electro dub came encased in a modern psych cocoon and an inventive sense of playfulness.”

Continuously pushing boundaries in both recording and live-settings, Róisín Murphy’s capacity to be an ever-evolving performer is a spectacle in itself. From live-streamed lockdown events to headline appearances at Glastonbury West Holts Stage, Homobloc, a sold-out Brixton Academy, Coachella and Primavera Sound, Murphy consistently proves to be a thrilling must-see artist in every sense of the word. This summer will further cement Murphy’s live reputation, with a festival calendar already including Melt Festival, Secret Garden Party, Mighty Hoopla, We Out Here and more.

From her time growing up in the Irish town of Arklow, music seemed to call Murphy almost instantly, from the moment she discovered the power of her own voice at the age of 10 through performance of the eternal showtune classic “Don’t Cry For Me, Argentina” at a local poetry festival. Murphy dove headlong into the music scene after her family decamped to Manchester when she was just a teen. When her parents divorced and moved back to Ireland when she was 15, she decided to stay behind in England and live alone, to continue her artistic immersion. After a brief flirtation with noise and punk in Manchester’s confines, she hitched over to Sheffield at 19 to immerse herself in the club scene. A chance meeting with local bassist Mark Brydon led the pair to form the celebrated group Moloko, and from there Murphy’s decorated solo career has spanned 5 lauded albums (with a Mercury Music Prize nomination for 2015’s “Hairless Toys”), celebrated EP and single collaborations, and more recently video directing and acting accolades.

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.
Become a patron at Patreon!