Sounds From A Safe Harbour Festival in Cork in mid-September has already announced its big names The National and Bon Iver for the festival and today it’s revealed a prominent Aaron Dessner collaborator Lisa Hannigan as the next performer.

Hannigan will perform with the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra and The National man (who produced her last record) at the Cork Opera House on Thursday 14th September at 8pm.

Tickets €30 + Fees and on sale at midday on Thursday from Cork Opera House.

Posted on August 2nd, 2017


Artists: ,

Lisa Hannigan is currently on an Irish tour playing some new songs in a live setting and today, she’s given the rest of us a chance to hear some new music.

‘Prayer For The Dying’ is an emotive undulating piece of orchestral music from third album At Swim, Hannigan’s new album out August 19th on Play It Again Sam with Hannigan sounding more elegant than ever before.

The album was produced by The National’s Aaron Dessner.

The song was inspired “by the passing of a friend’s parent after an extended illness./”

‘They’d had a very long and happy marriage and the loss was devastating. I wanted to try and express that grief but also pay tribute to their marriage.’

Pre-Order on Vinyl, CD & digital now (on iTunes as of tomorrow) and receive ‘Prayer for the Dying’ instantly.

Lisa Hannigan – At Swim tracklist

1. Fall
2. Prayer For The Dying
3. Snow
4. Lo
5. Undertow
6. Ora
7. We The Drowned
8. Anahorish
9. Tender
10. Funeral Suit
11. Barton

Posted on June 8th, 2016

Artists: ,


One of the highlights from Other Voices in Dingle in December was UK folk band This Is The Kit who were invited along to play St. James’ Church by Aaron Dessner of The National (that’s him on guitar in the video). The recorded version of this song doesn’t have the whistle part which totally makes this version vastly superior. My future wife, who fancied herself as a future entrant in the World Whistling Championships was discouraged by Kate Stables’ able and melodic whistling. Other Voices will air on TV soon.

Posted on January 7th, 2013


Artists: , ,