This is only a selection of new music – dig into more or follow the Spotify playlists.


J Colleran – Bera

Irish musician J Colleran who previously went under the name Mmoths announced the release of his debut album Gardenia for June 29th this year. As a follow on from ‘O+SOH’, ‘Bera’ is the second release from his forthcoming album, a neo-classical composition with great elegance through its flowing melody, lucid strings arrangements and piano.

The video which features bodybuilders was directed by Christopher Gray.


Paul Alwright – All Love ft Maverick Sabre

Dublin musician Paul Alright’s album Hungry is set for release on May 11th which will feature collaborations with various other Irish artists. The first collaborative release is with English-Irish singer-songwriter Maverick Sabre who has been relatively quiet on the music scene for the past two years. The track is raw and open, exploring the various characteristics of love with soulful qualities embedded by Sabre’s vocals, this is a collaboration that fits. He previously released ‘Seeds of Doubt’ earlier this year.


Mick Pyro – Very Strange

Mick Pyro is an artist with distinctively raspy and soulful vocal abilities, with previous projects such as Republic of Loose he is also an artist of variation. ‘Very Strange’ is a solo release that sets him as a relevant artist, bearing qualities of his previous work with an added dynamic energy.


Them There – Blaze (Orbit Radio Remix)

‘Blaze’ is the soothing indie-pop debut single from the former frontman of Archive, Craig Walker and ex-Nouvelle Vague singer Phoebe Killdeer aka Them There. This version of the track is a remix by Orbit, adding an electric energy and synthesized sense of contagion. Them There’s debut album Love Is An Elevator is set for release later this year.


Dashoda – 38 Long

’38 Long’ is the first single from electronic producer Gavin MacDermott or Dashoda from his debut EP to be released later this year, an up-tempo and catchy indie-pop track.


The Zilla – Island

The Zilla is made up by Theo Fitzgibbon and Roy Gilmartin. As a follow on from their debut single ‘I Belong to You’, ‘Island’ represents an exciting sound from the Hackney-based duo, a high energy pop track with attitude.


Hvmmingbyrd – Papillon

This is the first release this year from Irish duo Deborah Byrne and Suzette Das or Hvmmingbryd. ‘Papillion’ is a track that is layered with a harmonious energy, recorded by Marcin Ciszczon in Diffusion Lab Studios.

Posted on April 10th, 2018


Artists: , , , , , ,

A new initiative called SelfMade is coming to Dublin which aims to explore and celebrate DIY music in Ireland.

The first installment takes place on February 2nd in Third Space Smithfield and will have a focus on women in music. The night will include performances, an exhibition of portraits and photographs of the various artists performing and a panel discussion led by Jess Kavanagh of BARQ focusing on the unsees challenges including image, funding, diversity and mental strain that face musicians.

“Our goal is to create a wider discussion and support for and between musicians in Ireland while celebrating some of the incredible work they’ve achieved.”


SelfMade is organised independently by artist Joanna Bain and musician/illustrator Julie Hawk in collaboration with a collective of Irish musicians.

Posted on January 16th, 2018


Artists: , , , , , , , ,

Last September, Hvmmingbyrd released their first EP as a duo with Deborah Byrne and Suzette Das embracing a more thoroughly pop sound.

‘Gozo’ is their first fresh track since then and the song has a dreamy pop quality to it that is also new to the Hvmmingbyrd name. It was inspired by the a “euphoric trip” to the island of Gozo in Malta so maybe that explains the track’s sunny production about to take flight.

‘Gozo’ is co-produced with Aisling Jarvis and is out on 4th August 2017.

Catch them at Castlepalooza next weekend.

Posted on July 26th, 2017


Castlepalooza already announced the first bands and comedy acts for this year’s festival in Charleville Castle, Tullamore from August 4th to 6th this year and here are the latest acts added.

  • Thumper
  • Le Boom
  • Frankenstein Bolts
  • Wolff
  • Aik J
  • Oh Boland
  • Apella
  • Farah Elle
  • Participant
  • Rosa Nutty
  • Cinema
  • Beach
  • Damola
  • Phare
  • Nimino
  • Spud Gun
  • Video Blue
  • Show Fur
  • Tu-Ki
  • Lumigraph
  • Barry Redsetta
  • Apres Ski
  • Boca 45
  • Pete Isaac
  • Baz Hickey
  • Let’s Sail
  • Phare
  • Robocobra Quartet
  • Beauty Sleep

Tier 2 camping tickets are currently now €119 (€109 without) and price goes up on Monday 17th April.

First announcement.

Posted on March 28th, 2017


Artists: , , , , ,

Hvmmingbyrd’s new video for their EP song ‘Legacy’ gives women who are the subject of public harassment a do-over in addressing it as it happens.

The video by shows the story of three women experiencing every day harassment from men, walking away feeling defeated and then getting a chance to do over their reaction a second time

Deborah Byrne and Suzette Das launch the song as a single in Workman’s next week, March 30th with support from Maria Kelly and Dreaming Of Jupiter.

Posted on March 24th, 2017


Hvmmingbyrd are a very different proposition from the alt-folk pop band they formerly traded as.

Now, a duo of Deborah Byrne and Suzette Das, the new lineup found a new sound and energy on alt-pop of ‘Out of My Head’ and a radio rotated big track ‘If Love Was Enough’.

Tomorrow marks the release of the five-track EP co-produced with Aisling Jarvis from which ‘Out of My Head’ features, Know My Name, and the release is very much a different proposition from the past. Among them are ‘Blindsided’, a synth pop song with low-end electronic pop, treated vocal electro on ‘Never’, trip-hop beats and harmonies on ‘Legacy’ and the wavey ‘Wish You Well’. Listen here:

The EP is launched with a full band on Thursday, September 29th in the Grand Social with support from Ailbhe Reddy and Rosa Nutty. Tickets only €6 on the door.

Posted on September 15th, 2016


Hvmmingbyrd are a Dublin band that recently reappeared as a duo and a new sound with the atmospheric alt-pop song ‘Out Of My Head’.

Suzette Das & Deborah Byrne’s new song pushes them further down that new road with a beautifully-executed song which was produced by the band and Aisling Jarvis. It will feature on Hvmmingbyrd’s forthcoming EP Know My Name to be released in September.

Watch the video directed & produced by Crooked Gentlemen.

The EP will be launched on Thursday, September 29th in the Grand Social with support from Rosa Nutty and Ailbhe Reddy.

Posted on July 22nd, 2016


The alt-pop band Hvmmingbyrd recently underwent a transition in which they changed their lineup and reduced down to a duo. Where as previous songs like ‘The One I Love’ and ‘The Sad’ were in a harmony-lead orchestral folk vein, ‘Out of My Head’ sounds is a song that is more of an atmospheric alt-pop song, with looped electronic textures underpinning its production (by Aisling Jarvis).

Hvmmingbyrd launch the track in Whelan’s on Saturday with support from I Am Niamh, Saramai and Lauren Ni Chasaide (more on that in the gig guide) and the song has been added to the Nialler9 new Irish music playlist. It’s available on Bandcamp for purchase.

Photo: Ruth Medjber

Posted on March 29th, 2016