Loose Joints is a podcast where we talk to a guest and play music they like new and old. True to the name, the podcast features a loose collection of tunes, tied together by very little logic, just like our chats. Nialler9 and Sally Cinnamon are your hosts.

Another Love Story is the perfect gathering. A festival in a manor house in Meath where the audience was as integral to the vibe as the music and happenings. Lovingly organised with thoughtful programming (it finishes at 6.30 on a Sunday so it feels different to others) with attention to details down to the aesthetic of the bins.

Part of its intimacy extends to the library and front room where talks and performances happen and a sprinkle of spontaneity hangs in the air. Donal Lunny might show up and lead a folk club, your mate might start being a literal windowlicker when you’re recording a podcast as what happened when Loose Joints did a live recording of the pod with guests Conor O’Brien (Villagers) and Richie Egan (Jape).

Giddy tunes, Skin flutes, cowboy trousers, artists who are doses or not, dubstep remixes, being overshadowed by your duet collaborator, how to have a casual conversation with Bjork and outlier electronica are just some of the things we covered in our hour. Special thanks to Siobhan Kane for having us down in the Library and to the Another Love Story audience in the room and beyond.

Download: Loose Joints Podcast: Live at ALS with Conor O’Brien & Richie Egan(1 hour)

Songs played

A song that makes you feel giddy
Ponyo Theme Song (Richie)
Paul Simon – Wristband (Conor)
New music picks
Aldous Harding – Imagining My Man? (Sally)
Alex Cameron & Angel Olsen – Stranger’s Kiss (Niall)
Burnt Out – Dear James (Conor)
Lanark Arterfax – Touch Absence (Richie)
A song from your favourite festival experience
Dungen – Festival (Richie)
A post festival comedown song or album
Águas de Março by Antonio Carlos Jobim sung by Elis Regina (Conor)
A song from your favourite festival experience
Solange – Cranes In The Sky (Conor)
A song you wish you’d written
Bjork – History of Touches (Richie)
New music picks
Moon King – In & Out (Sally)
Wah Wah Wino – Paco’s Ode (Niall)
Johanna Warren – Figure 8 (Conor)
Lutto Lento – Gyal A Devil (Richie)
A post festival comedown song or album
William Basinski – Disintegration Loops 1 (Richie)
A song you wish you’d written
Big Star – Thirteen (Conor)
Kendal Johannson – Blue Moon (Niall)

Subscribe in iTunes.

Also available in Stitcher, PocketCasts and TuneIn.

Photos: Allen Kiely.

Previous Loose Joints Episodes and tracklists

#9: Live at Science Gallery – Sample special
#8: Cian Murphy ( I Am The Cosmos)
#7:Greg Spring
#6: Gib Cassidy.
#5: Best of 2016 with May Kay.
#4: Aisling Rogerson
#3: Emmet Kirwan.
#2: Oisin Davis.
#1: Aidan Kelly.

Posted on August 23rd, 2017


Artists: , , , ,

Richie Egan (Jape) is the latest guest on Jarlath Regan’s An Irishman Abroad podcast and the interview features some frank and honest words from Egan.

Egan talks about his thoughts on his position as an artist in the world and where he fits in, he talks about moving to Malmo and the cultural and social differences between Dublin and the city, honest creativity and relationships in art, his ‘death phase’ as well as talking about the possibly, clinical depression he’s felt in recent years and how he’s dealing with it.

It’s an extremely honest interview.

Posted on July 18th, 2016

Artists: ,

Starboard Home is a new album that features new songs inspired by Dublin Port, Dublin City and the River Liffey from the likes of Paul Noonan, James Vincent McMorrow, Cathy Davey, Duke Special, Gemma Hayes, Jape, Colm Mac Con Iomaire, Lisa O’Neill, Declan O’Rourke, John Sheahan (The Dubliners) and Paul Cleary (The Blades). It was recorded in February at Sun Studios with the chosen artists.

Curated and produced by Bell X1’s Paul Noonan and The National Concert Hall’s Gary Sheehan, Starboard Home was commissioned by Dublin Port as part of the Ireland 2016 Centenary Programme. It will be released on June 17th preceding two concerts in the National Concert Hall on June 22nd and 23rd featuring performances of the songs.

‘The Liffey Knew’ by Jape’s Richie Egan was quietly released onto Spotify recently and features “Óró sé do bheatha abhaile” (welcome home) as a key lyric. Have a listen:

Starboard Home tracklisting:

1 Paul Noonan – Steel Ballet
2 Richard Egan – The Liffey Knew
3 Gemma Hayes – Caught In The Rapids
4 Colm Mac Con Iomaire – From The Mountain To The Sea
5 Paul Cleary – Kingfisher Blue
6 James Vincent McMorrow – Down In The Diving Bell
7 Declan O’Rourke – Colossus
8 Duke Special – Button Men
9 Cathy Davey – What Else
10 Lisa O’Neill – Rock The Machine
11 John Sheahan – Liffeysong

Posted on June 1st, 2016

Artists: ,

.wav goodbye is an 8-track collection of music cut from the demo folders of Richie Egan aka Jape, previously unreleased and available on Bandcamp for pay what you want.

Richie had this to say:

here’s a little home recorded experiment of stuff i wanna move on from, my friends always tell me i never release most of the stuff i do, and that is true to be honest because i see song writing as a gift to help with my mental health..

so when the song is done i feel like in a way it has served it’s purpose.. but i thought i’d show you some of the out casts that thus far haven’t seen the light..

hope you’re good and i hope you dig the roughness and weirdness of these tunes..

.wav goodbye
x rich

Jape plays Vicar Street on December 12th.

Posted on November 11th, 2015

Artists: ,

Neil O’Connor is a prolific composer and producer. His previous Somadrone album The First Wave explored live electronic music with vintage synthesizers.

For his fifth album, Oracle, to be released on September 18th, O’Connor was more inspired by the kind of music his recent listening / club night: early disco, library music and acid house all filtered through a more minimal approach which can be heard on the sumptuous first track from the album ‘Invitation’ featuring Jape’s Richie Egan, a song which keeps things relatively sparse but still builds up into a heady synth crescendo. Check the video by Kevin Mc Gloughlain and Leon Giblin.

Somadrone – Oracle

01. Oracle
02. Caustic City
03. When Necessary
04. The Swimmer
05. Life Support
06. Sight
07. Impulse
08. Invitation

Posted on August 13th, 2015

Artists: ,

Turning Pirate’s Mix Tape Party happens every year in Vicar Street on New Year’s Eve in a all-in-one show featuring a large lineup of local talent playing together in celebratory style.

This year’s lineup has been revealed and includes:

Lisa Hannigan, Booka Brass Band, Richie Egan, Declan O’Rourke, The Young Folk, Camille O’sullivan, Ye Vagabonds, Interskalactic,Gavin Glass, The Lost Brothers, Stephen James and Adam Matthews.

Tickets are €35 plus fee go on sale Monday 24th November available from ticketmaster.ie & usual outlets nationwide.

Posted on November 21st, 2014

Artists: , , , , , , , , , ,