Now Reading
J Dilla – ‘Diamonds’ &’ Ice’

J Dilla – ‘Diamonds’ &’ Ice’


These two J Dilla tracks surfaced long ago in low-quality form but are finally coming out.

Taken from Dilla’s album recorded for MCA Records, The Diary, which will be released some time on Pay Jay Productions this year, a label managed by his family. ‘The Anthem’ /’Trucks’ has already been released from that record which will feature Dilla’s vocal and raps with production by Madlib, Nottz, Karriem Riggins, House Shoes and Pete Rock.

This second single features two tracks ‘Diamonds’ &’ Ice’. The former, produced by Notz, has a celebratory chorus and is classic Dilla. The latter, is produced by Madlib is not online officially but has a bit of A Quasimoto vibe. Full tracklisting below. Sleeve above by Jeff Jank and Label by Sheppard Fairy & B+. Get the release out on August 27th from RappCats.

Track Listing

A1. Diamonds – The Shining Pt. 1
A2. Diamonds – The Shining Pt. 1 (Alternate)
A3. Diamonds – The Shining Pt. 1 (Instrumental)
B1. Ice – The Shining Pt. 2
B2. Ice – The Shining Pt. 2 (Ruff Draft Version)
B3. Ice – The Shining Pt. 2 (Instrumental)
B4. The D

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.

Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers, and be a key part of the music community in Ireland and abroad.

Become a patron at Patreon!