James Blake releases new Before EP & Boiler Room set this Friday


After a clutch of once-off singles ‘You’re Too Precious’, ‘Are You Even Real?’, his cover of Frank Ocean’s ‘Godspeed’ and a collaboration with Slowthai and Mount Kimbie, James Blake is well and truly moving on from last year’s excellent Assume Form album.

The new Before EP is ““a yearning for dancefloor elation” with Blake returning to the more electronic side of things as he is wont to do frequently. This time around though, his own voice is also featured unprocessed, something which he really hasn’t done enough. It’s a nice melding of his singer-songwriter and production strands of his creative personality.

Watch the visualisers directed by Ryder Ripps:

1. I Keep Calling

2. Before 
3. Do You Ever?
4. Summer Of Now

Blake is to perform his first DJ set on the Boiler Room since 2013 starting at 10pm BST on Friday, October 16th on boilerroom.tv, YouTube and jamesblakemusic.com  and will feature material from the new EP project – RSVP HERE.

Before EP Tracklist

1. I Keep Calling
2. Before
3. Do You Ever?
4. Summer Of Now