Now Reading
Julia Jacklin announces new album Pre Pleasure and Dublin Vicar Street gig

Julia Jacklin announces new album Pre Pleasure and Dublin Vicar Street gig

Avatar

Lovely news.

One of our favourite singer-songwriters around these parts, Julia Jacklin has just been announced for a headline show at Vicar Street in Dublin on November 3rd this year.

It comes with news of a new album Pre Pleasure out on Augst 26th via Transgressive Records.

A new single ‘Lydia Wears A Cross’ is out today with a video.

Julia Jacklin
Vicar Street
November 3rd 2022

Presented by singular artists.

Tickets €24.90 available from Thursday, 19 May at 10am.

Support from Erin Rae.

“The song is about a lot of things but mainly being a 7yr old Jesus Christ superstar fanatic attending catholic school trying to figure out which way is up,” said Julia. “The music video was filmed by my constant collaborator and friend Nick Mckk at Splitpoint lighthouse. I played a show close by recently and asked on stage if anyone could let me film inside. Someone in the crowd knew a guy and that was it. The rest was filmed in the streets of Northcote, Melbourne.”

About the album:

“A lot of the time I feel like I need to do all the work before I can enjoy my life,” says Julia Jacklin of her third album, PRE PLEASURE. “Whether that’s work on songs or sex, friendships, or my relationship with my family – I think if I work on them long and hard enough, eventually I’ll get to sit around and really enjoy them. But that’s not how anything works is it. It’s all an ongoing process.”

Recorded in Montreal with co-producer Marcus Paquin (The Weather Station, The National), PRE PLEASURE finds Jacklin teamed with her Canada-based touring band, bassist Ben Whiteley and guitarist Will Kidman, both of Canadian folk outfit The Weather Station. It also introduces drummer Laurie Torres, saxophonist Adam Kinner and string arrangements by Owen Pallett (Arcade Fire) recorded by a full orchestra in Prague.

“Making a record to me has always just been about the experience, a new experience in a new place with a new person at the desk, taking the plunge and just seeing what happens” says Jacklin, on the decision to travel to Canada and work with a new producer for the third time in as many albums. “For the first time I stepped away from the guitar, and wrote a lot of the album on the Roland keyboard in my apartment in Montreal with its inbuilt band tracks. I blu-tacked reams of butcher paper to the walls, covered in lyrics and ideas, praying to the music gods that my brain would arrange everything in time.”

“Once music becomes your job, you can lose the purity of music fandom,” says Jacklin. “I spent the last two years trying to reconnect with that. I didn’t play much, I just listened. Especially to a lot of big pop music like Celine Dion, Robyn and Luther Vandross – music that wasn’t so heavy, big feelings, big production. You lose sight of what putting on a big, beautiful song can do.”

EU/UK Tour Dates:

Thu 3 Nov 2022 – Ireland, Dublin @Vicar Street

Sat 5 Nov 2022 – UK, Glasgow @ SWG3 TV Studio

Sun 6 Nov 2022 – UK, Manchester @ O2 Ritz

Mon 7 Nov 2022 – UK, Birmingham @ The Mill

Wed 9 Nov 2022 – UK, Bristol @ SWX

Thu 10 Nov 2022 – UK, Brighton @ Chalk

Fri 11 Nov 2022 – UK, London @ Roundhouse

Sun 13 Nov 2022 – France, Paris @ Café De La Danse

Mon 14 Nov 2022 – Belgium, Antwerp @ Trix

Tue 15 Nov 2022 – Germany, Cologne @ Gebäude 9

Thu 17 Nov 2022 – Netherlands, Amsterdam @ Paradiso

Fri 18 Nov 2022 – Germany, Hamburg @ Knust

Sun 20 Nov 2022 – Norway, Oslo @ Parkteatret

Mon 21 Nov 2022 – Sweden, Stockholm @ Slaktkyrkan

Tue 22 Nov 2022 – Denmark, Copenhagen @ DR Studie 2

Thu 24 Nov 2022 – Germany, Berlin @ Columbia Theater

Fri 25 Nov 2022 – Germany, Munich @ Strom

Sat 26 Nov 2022 – Switzerland, Zurich @ Plaza

Sun 27 Nov 2022 – Italy, Milan @ Magnolia

Tue 29 Nov 2022 – Spain, Barcelona @ Apolo

Wed 30 Nov 2022 – Spain, Madrid @ Mon Live

Thu 1 Dec 2022 – Portugal, Lisbon @ LAV