Now Reading
Julia Jacklin releases two new songs on the Sub Pop Singles Club

Julia Jacklin releases two new songs on the Sub Pop Singles Club


One of our favourites, the Australian singer-songwriter Julia Jacklin has followed up her excellent second album Crushing with two new songs released as part of volume 5 of the Sub Pop Singles Club.

The two songs are ‘to Perth, before the border closes’, and ‘Cry’.

 Speaking of the A-side, Jacklin says:

I’ve moved around a lot the last 5 years; chasing things, love, work, something new, whatever and there’s always this fear that I’m leaving good things behind just to go somewhere else and be lonely. Whispering “everything changes” to myself helps get me to sleep at night. I started writing this song in Melbourne and finished it in Perth. It was like a little song bridge between the two cities to make the change easier.”

B-side ‘Cry’ is described as “a Dolly Parton-inspired stream-of-consciousness” featuring Perth friends Jennifer Aslett, Christ Wright and Jacob Diamond.

 Jacklin recorded the 7” with old friend and Perth producer Ryan Brennan, who was the first person she ever recorded with 9 years ago when the pair were housemates.
The singles are available to Sub Pop Singles Club subscribers as limited-edition 7” singles and are available now at all digital music services.

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.
Become a patron at Patreon!