Now Reading
New albums out today: Sorcha Richardson, The Comet Is Coming, Nils Frahm, Khruangbin, ROE & more

New albums out today: Sorcha Richardson, The Comet Is Coming, Nils Frahm, Khruangbin, ROE & more


Here’s a rundown of new releases on DSPs and physical releases in record shops this week.

Sorcha Richardson – Smiling Like an Idiot

Second album from the Dublin singer-songwriter and follow up to First Prize Bravery. Features ‘Archie’, ‘Shark Eyes’ and ‘Hard To Fake It’.

The Comet Is Coming – Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam

UK London-based psych jazz-rock band’s third album. ‘Code’

Nils Frahm – Music For Animals

“My constant inspiration,” Nils explains, “was something as mesmerising as watching a great waterfall or the leaves on a tree in a storm. It’s good we have symphonies and music where there’s a development, but a waterfall doesn’t need an Act 1, 2, 3, then an outcome, nor do the leaves on a tree in a storm. Some people like watching the leaves rustle and the branches move. This record is for them”. ‘Briefly’

The Tallest Man On Earth – Too Late for Edelweiss

Covers album features renditions of songs popularized by Bon Iver, Lucinda Williams, Yo La Tengo, the National, Hank Williams, and more.

The Soft Moon – Exister

Fifth studio album from the one-man project of Luis Vasquez. ‘Monster’.

Khruangbin & Vieux Farka Touré – Ali

Texas trio meets Mali guitar legend. Alexis Petridis’s album of the week. ‘Savanne’

Makaya McCraven – In These Times

Chicago – based percussionist, composer and producer jazz artist’s new album on International Anthem / Nonesuch / XL Recordings. ‘Seventh String’

Beth Orton – Weather Alive

English folk-pop-electronic songwriter’s eighth studio album. ‘Friday Night’.

ROE – That’s When The Panic Sets In

Derry artist’s new album is released after the first part was released this summer. ‘Cold Feet’

Trick Mist – The Hedge Maze and The Spade

Cork ambient, electronic, experimental songwriter and producer’s new album is inspired by a period of forced introspection after the death of his 96 year old grandmother on Dundalk’s Pizza Pizza Records. ‘The Junction’

Patrick Stefan – wayfare

Irish-Dutch singer whose inspiration for his songs come from a colourful background of experience: learning tribal songs in Mali, jazz guitar in Boston, folk singing in Helsinki and drumming in north Brazil. Comparisons to Paul Simon, Jose Gonzalez, Sufjan Stevens, Nick Drake, James Blake, Milton Nascimento and Peter Broderick. ‘Just another love song’.

Maya Hawke – MOSS

Another week, another Stranger Things actor releasing an album huh? ‘Luna Moth’

Magdalena Bay – Mercurial World Deluxe

Expanded version of the American pop duo’s recent album. ‘Unconditional’

Scullion – Time Has Made a Change in Me

Formed in mid-1970’s Ireland, Scullion’s new album is inspired by James Joyce, Bob Dylan, Sufjan Stevens and Sonny Condell. Listen to the band cover The National’s ‘I Need My Girl’.

clipping. – REMXNG 2.1

Remix collection featuring reworks by Bogdan Raczynski, Loraine James, Oil Thief.

Future Disco Presents: Mirrorball Motel

19-track Disco and house compilation featuring Digitalism, Roisin Murphy, Cinthie, Bondax, Reflex, Roosevelt and more. Vinyl. Mini Mix.

Daniel Lanois – Player, Piano

12 solo piano tracks, released on the Modern Recordings label.

Sports Team – Gulp!

UK buzz band release their second album on Island. ‘R Entertainment’

Tim Burgess – Typical Music

The Charlatans man releases 22-track double album.

See Also

Tomike – Take Two

7-track extended EP from the Irish R&B artist. ‘Aren’t Up For Debate’.


Kansas City group’s second album on Dirty Hit (The 1975). ‘CYBERKISS 2 U* (feat. beabadoobee)’

Courting – Guitar Music

Liverpool four-piece. ‘Jumper’.

Zach James Douglas – 4×2 EP

Vibrant alt-pop/indie EP here from Irish producer Zach James Douglas.

Patrick Kavanagh – Almost Everything

An album that sees the work of seminal Irish poet Patrick Kavanagh brought to life by President Michael D. Higgins, Bono, Sharon Corr, Imelda May and more.

Iceage – Shake the Feeling:

Outtakes & Rarities 2015–2021.

Alex G – God Save the Animals

Ninth full-length album of DIY indie melodic pop from the Philly artist.

Editors – EBM

EBM is the first album with new band member Benjamin John Power, aka Blanck Mass and the name of the album is an acronym of Editors and Blanck Mass, but is also a reference to Electronic Body Music. ‘Kiss’.

D-Block Europe – Lap 5

South London collective’s sixth studio album. ‘Elegant and Gang’.

D.Cullen – Sing My Story, Tell My Song

Darragh Cullen is a twenty-seven-year-old singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist from Dublin. ‘Im Not Leaving’.

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.

Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers, and be a key part of the music community in Ireland and abroad.

Become a patron at Patreon!