Now Reading
Ships win the Choice Music Prize for Irish album of the year 2017

Ships win the Choice Music Prize for Irish album of the year 2017


Last night in Vicar Street, the RTÉ Choice Music Prize, the Irish album of the year, was awarded to Ships.

The band, Sorca Mcgrath and Simon Cullen, were awarded the prize for their album Precession, and they were given the €10,000 prize.

While the live event was happening, the judges locked in a room at the Morrison hotel, decided that Precession was the best album in a year over albums from Fionn Regan, New Jackson, Lankum and Talos. James Vincent McMorrow was left once again without the prize in his fourth Choice nomination.

I made my predictions earlier in the week and called Ships “a dark horse contender”. It was my favourite Irish album of last year so it was a pleasure to hear that the judges agreed on this occasion. Ships self-released their album after a Fundit campaign. The album is beautifully-produced, engaging, unique and lyrically considered. Congrats to Sorca and Simon.

All Will Be - Ships
I Can Never - Ships

Ships received a cheque for €10,000, a prize which has been provided by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA) – as well as a specially-commissioned award.

Chasing Abbey also won the RTÉ Choice Music Prize Irish Song of the Year 2017 in a public vote for their song ‘That Good Thing’.

RTÉ2 will broadcast a one-hour TV highlights programme of the RTÉ Choice Music Prize featuring performances from the acts and interviews by Bláthnaid Treacy on Sunday March 18th at 11pm.

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.

Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers, and be a key part of the music community in Ireland and abroad.

Become a patron at Patreon!