Now Reading
Subplots – ‘Future Tense’

Subplots – ‘Future Tense’


Earlier this Summer, Subplots returned as a duo with news of a new album on the way and the song ‘Colourbars’. Said album is now drawing closer from the Irish band and they have announced it will be called Autumning and will be released on January 30th 2015 on Cableattack!! Records.

New song ‘Future Tense’ debuted on Stereogum last week and is a nuanced piece of music, a cinematic indie rock track, delicate and revealing across its short running time. The song is on Bandcamp.

“ ‘Future Tense’ was one of the first songs written for the album, and went through a metamorphosis throughout recording. Our new drummer Ross Chaney had a big influence on the second half – shifting the feel of the song completely. It was one of the toughest songs to finish on the album but ultimately probably the one we’re proudest of.”

– Phil Boughton, Subplots

Autumning Tracklist:

1. Wave Collapse
2. The Sunken Wild
3. Escherich
4. Colourbars
5. 9/8
6. Future Tense
7. End of Print
8. Follower
9. Epilogue

Live gigs

November 15th, 2014 – Pepper Canister Church, Dublin (w/ Luke Abbott)
January 30th, 2015 – Workman’s Club, Dublin (Autumning – Irish album launch)

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.

Become a patron at Patreon!