Now Reading
The best songs of the week

The best songs of the week



BadBadNotGood feat. Future Islands’ Sam Herring

‘Time Moves Slow

BBNG IV artworkAlbum IV will feature Kaytranada, Colin Stetson & Mick Jenkins.

Last year, Future Islands rapped with Madlib on the stonking track ‘Trouble Knows Me’, while Canadian jazzy hip-hop instrumentalists BadBadNotGood did a band reinterpretation of ‘Seasons (Waiting On You’) and made an album with Ghostface Killah that was in my top 10 of 2015.

That collaborative streak strikes here on ‘Time Moves Slow’, the first official single from BadBadNotGood’s fourth album IV (Innovative Leisure on July 8th).

‘Time Moves Slow’ features Sam T. Herring crooning with his heartfelt style on the band’s understatedly rich laidback arrangement. The other song from the LP, ‘Speaking Gently’ is another recently instrumental favourite.

IV will feature further guests producer Kaytranada (the band feature on his new album), brass/reed player Colin Stetson, rapper Mick Jenkins and Charlotte Day Wilson. Touring partner Leland Whitty has now joined the band as a permanent member.

Badbadnotgood are also playing Body&Soul this year.

[Original Post]


Glass Animals

‘Life Itself’

Glass Animals return with ‘Life Itself’
New single from forthcoming album How To Be a Human Being.

Glass Animals debuted their new single ‘Life Itself’ last night on Annie Mac’s BBC show.

‘Life Itself’ is taken from the band’s upcoming record How To Be a Human Being, the followup to one of my records of 2014 Zaba. The band say Zaba was its ownm weird fantasy land and this record is all about people.

The song suggests the Oxford band are moving away from their atmospheric R&B indie style in favour of one that is a more upbeat melding pot of all of those sounds. That Joey Bada$$ collaboration is starting to make sense.

[Original Post]
Pages: 1 2 3 4