Now Reading
Video Premiere: Everything Shook – ‘Too Hot For Me’

Video Premiere: Everything Shook – ‘Too Hot For Me’


Dublin vocal electronic trio, Robyn Bromfield, Jessica Kennedy and Áine Stapleton aka Everything Shook are set to release a new album this Friday March 31st entitled Blacking Out, and the album will be launched at the National Concert Hall this Thursday.

Everything Shook’s music has demonstrated form with harmony, synth pop, coldwave, electro and darkwave.

For the album track ‘Too Hot For Me’, the trio have a bit of all of the above going on, on a song that is a bit dreamy and a bit distant. “A spiky love song of sorts,” say the band .”It speaks of the destructive capabilities of love, intimacy and carnal desire, sung with a playful irreverence.

‘You’re too hot for me. I’m too cold for you…’

The nocturnal moody video for the song, directed by Eóin Heaney is premiering here, and is very much a suitable companion for the track:

Track Credits
Too Hot For Me is written and recorded by Everything Shook
Mix by Robyn Bromfield
Final Mix and Master by Stephen Shannon, Experimental Audio

Video Credits
Directed by Eóin Heaney
Performed by Martin Berridge
Director of Photography Luca Truffarelli
Editor Gavin Coleman
Production Assisant Jessica Kennedy

The band recently released a cover of ‘Goodbye Horses’ and have more music on Bandcamp. The trio also recently provided backing vocals on Brighton band Fujiya & Miyagi’s new song ‘Slight Variations’.

About Everything Shook – Blacking Out

Everything Shook’s self-released sophomore album ‘Blacking Out’ offers a dizzying array of  layered vocals, analog synths, drum machine and bass guitar that perpetually resynthesize the  psychological and mystic problems depicted in their weird tales. The album follows their critically  acclaimed self-released debut album ‘Drinking About You’ (2016). Blacking Out is divided into  twelve tracks that place the body and soul in playful unease and speaks of a curious and  fractured world. 

The ethereal beauty of tracks such as Wintering and Stand Ajar tell creepy stories of witchcraft  and myth, offering incantations of defiance and struggle. Remastered versions of their recent  critically acclaimed singles Horror Show and Three Crows reveal portraits that are compelling,  savage and strangely attractive. Wry eulogies from Ballroom of Death and Too Hot For Me are  heady and disorienting tales of attachment and decay. Tremblement de Terre (with backing  vocals from David Best of Brighton band Fujiya & Miyagi), Time and Money, Mattress, Toy  Shitzu and Nice To Meet You are intoxicating tracks full of damage and joy that seek out the  potential for pleasure in tragedy. Their stirring cover of Goodbye Horses adds emotional  renewal to the transcendent dark wave cult song. 

See Also

About Everything Shook

Everything Shook is an Irish three-piece electronic band formed in 2012. The group consists of  Robyn Bromfield (beats, synths & vocals), Jessica Kennedy (synths & vocals) and Áine Stapleton  (bass guitar & vocals). They have been included in Remarkable Women of Dark Wave 2022 WL/WH  Italy, Women Who Rocked Golden Plec, and Best Irish Acts The Irish Times. The band write,  produce, record and mix their own music with Robyn Bromfield as audio engineer. 

Their self-released debut album Drinking About You (2016) wowed critics and international  audiences alike – “a trio with a distinctive, idiosyncratic lean to their sound and approach… The  mood music is dark, neo-gothic, desolate and blue, a bittersweet symphony which sets up a series  of tracks where loops and grooves do their work in a hypnotic and austere manner...’ Jim  Carroll, The Irish Times, 2016. Their EP Argento Nights is available on 7″ vinyl. The band have played internationally at major music festivals and renowned venues including  Electric Picnic (Ireland), Open Ear (Ireland), Hangar supporting Fujiya & Miyagi (Ireland), The Tivoli  supporting Goblin (Ireland), Trash Bar (NYC), Cake Shop (NYC), The Social (London), BAM  (Belgrade, Serbia), Soma Bookstation (Kosovo), Radio Bar (Albania), Bear in the Woods & Arcadian  Field Festival (Ireland). Their immersive live shows are injected with mechanical choreographies,  performed by Jessica Kennedy and Áine Stapleton, that intensify the electronic sound environments  dictated by synths and Korg DS.  

Recent self-released singles include a stirring cover of the transcendent dark wave song Goodbye  Horses (2022). This cover follows Everything Shook’s three recent critically acclaimed tracks – Three  Crows (2022), Stand Ajar (2020) and Horror Show (2021) – and marks the precursor to the release  of their highly anticipated second album in 2023. The band recently featured as backing vocalists on  a single Slight Variations (2022) by Brighton-based band Fujiya & Miyagi.  

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Spotify | Instagram | Bandcamp

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.
Become a patron at Patreon!