Villagers announces new album Darling Arithmetic, hear first song ‘Courage’

Villagers have a third entitled Darling Arithmetic coming out on April 10th on Domino Records.

The followup to {Awayland} is billed as an “intimate album entirely about love and relationships.”

It was recorded at home in in O’Brien’s farmhouse loft with Conor playing every instrument – guitar, piano, Mellotron and brushes.

It sounds like a stripped-down affair and the first single ‘Courage’ espouses the ideas of the album: “It took a little time to get where I wanted / It took a little time to get free / It took a little time to be honest / It took a little time to be me,” O’Brien sings in plaintive and emotive quiet fashion.

The video was also directed by O’Brien:

Darling Arithmetic Pre-order: Domino | iTunes.

Darling Arithmetic Tracklisting:

1. Courage
2. Everything I Am Is Yours
3. Dawning On Me
4. Hot Scary Summer
5. The Soul Serene
6. Darling Arithmetic
7. Little Bigot
8. No one To Blame
9. So Naïve

Live gigs

05 Feb – CLONAKILTY Debarras (sold-out)
06 Feb – DUNDALK Spirit Store (sold-out)
20 Feb – UK: HEBDEN BRIDGE Trades Club
20-22nd Feb – UK: TYNESIDE: 6 Music Festival

Photo: Andrew Whitton
Album artwork: David Hedderman