Now Reading
We Cut Corners return with new Muscle Memory EP this Friday, watch the video for the title track, “a treatise on separation anxiety”

We Cut Corners return with new Muscle Memory EP this Friday, watch the video for the title track, “a treatise on separation anxiety”


The Dublin duo We Cut Corners are releasing their first collection of music since their fourth album Imposters this Friday August 28th.

The EP entitled Muscle Memory, and coming out on the Delphi label, was recorded this year during lockdown and John Duignan (guitar / vocals) and Conall Ó Breachain (drums / vocals) say the title track, which arrives today with a video by director Luke Byrne featuring Roisin O’Donovan, is “a treatise on separation anxiety’.

‘Muscle Memory’ has We Cut Corners’ trademark literary lyricism and the band’s visceral indie-rock arrangements.

“Conall and John got in touch about doing a music video back in May during the height of lockdown. During that time, like a lot of people, I had been reconnecting with a lot of people including my friend and actor in this video, Roisin O’Donovan.  I had always wanted to work with Roisin and told her about the music video and expressed interest in collaborating on it with her. Due to all the restrictions back then we wanted to plan something quite simple, minimal and stripped back just with her. 

The songs themes aligned with a lot of the feelings we had both been feeling during the isolation period so it was weirdly cathartic working on this project so closely with Ro.

It’s a Jekyll and Hyde type story of a girl grieving the death of a friend and struggling through the midst of depressive episode. I think often we can find ourselves stuck in a rut and really going through it but there’s always, hopefully, a small part of you who is looking to drag you out of those feelings and emotions.”

Director – Luke Byrne

Listen to our podcast interview with WCC back in 2018.

Video directed by Luke Byrne
Starring – Roisin O’Donovan
Director of Photography – Steve O’Connor
Runner, Camera Assist – Alison Kenny
Choreography – Louise Kempton
Colourist – Oliver Kelly

See Also

Muscle Memory EP Tracklisting

1) Muscle Memory
2) Mystery Illness
3) Evil Knievel
4) Moon Landing

Facebook | Twitter | Website | Delphi Label

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.
Become a patron at Patreon!