Australian musician Julia Jacklin today announced a second album called Crushing to be released on February 22nd 2019 on Transgressive Records.

As well as sharing the first song from it, ‘Head Alone’, Jacklin has announced a number of dates around Europe including a date at Whelan’s, Dublin on Saturday 30th March along with a number of dates including Glasgow, London, Brighton, Birmingham, Paris, Bristol and Leeds.

Of the song, Jacklin says:
“I wrote most of ‘Head Alone’ on tour, singing it to myself, looking out the window on endless car journeys. It’s not a song that comes from a singular experience. It came from two years of feeling like the space around me shrinking to the point where I couldn’t even raise my arms. This song is me raising my arms and running into an open field. A bit of a plea to those around me to give me space and a song to remind myself that it’s okay to enforce boundaries, the good people in your life will listen, adapt and still love you.”

Crushing reveals “how our physical experience of the world shapes and sometimes distorts our inner lives.” and is the followup to the 2016 debut Don’t Let the Kids Win. It’s been a busy year for Jacklin with an album with Phantastic Ferniture.

2019 UK/EU tour dates:

Tuesday 26th March: Haunt, Brighton
Wednesday 27th March: Fleece, Bristol
Thursday 28th March: Castle & Falcon, Birmingham
Friday 29th March: Yes, Manchester
Saturday 30th March: Whelans, Dublin
Tuesday 2nd April: Stereo, Glasgow
Wednesday 3rd April: Belgrave Music Hall, Leeds
Thursday 4th April: Electric Brixton, London
Friday 5th April: Les Etoiles, Paris
Monday 8th April: AB Club, Brussels
Tuesday 9th April: Paradiso-Noord, Amsterdam
Wednesday 10th April: Blue Shell, Cologne
Thursday 11th April: Molotow Sky Bar, Hamburg
Friday 12th April: Vega, Copenhagen
Monday 15th April: Privatclub, Berlin
Tuesday 16th April: Milla, Munich
Wednesday 17th April: Bogen F, Zurich

‘Body’ the album’s opening track was released last month.

Crushing tracklisting:

  1. Body
  2. Head Alone
  3. Pressure To Party
  4. Don’t Know How To Keep Loving You
  5. When The Family Flies In
  6. Convention
  7. Good Guy
  8. You Were Right
  9. Turn Me Down
  10. Comfort