Now Reading
Madvillainy is the subject of the next book in the 33 1/3 series

Madvillainy is the subject of the next book in the 33 1/3 series


33 1/3 is a long running small book series in which writers explore a favourite album’s history and making in detail.

The latest in the series will be Madvillainy, the seminal hip-hop album by Madlib and MF DOOM, originally released in 2004 and one of the best albums of the genre in the last 20 years, no question.

The book is written by Will Hagle and is 152 pages.

This book celebrates Madvillainy as a representation of two genius musical minds of MF DOOM and Madlib melding to form one revered “supervillain.” Written from the alternating perspectives of three fake music journalist superheroes-featuring interviews with real individuals involved with the album’s creation, this book blends fiction and non-fiction to celebrate Madvillainy not just as an album, but as a folkloric artifact. It is one specific retelling of a story which, like Madvillain’s music, continues to spawn infinite legends.

Pre-order the book through Stones Throw (though watch that international shipping) or expect it in good book shops from March 9th, 2023.

See Also

33 1/3 is a series of short books devoted to a classic album. The series was launched by Bloomsbury in 2003 and has covered over 1560 albums including J Dilla’s Donuts, Steely Dan’s Aja, Abba Gold, Beastie Boys’ Paul’s Boutique and My Bloody Valentine’s Loveless.

It is also a podcast series on Spotify presented by Prince Paul.

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.
Become a patron at Patreon!