Now Reading
Meteor Choice Music Prize shortlist announced

Meteor Choice Music Prize shortlist announced


The shortlist is in for this year’s Meteor Choice Music Prize Album of the Year 2013 has just been announced. I can’t be held responsible… oh wait..

The shortlist

And So I Watch You From Afar – All Hail Bright Futures (Sargent House)
Bell X1 – Chop Chop (Belly Up Records)
Girls Names – The New Life (Tough Love)
Kodaline – In A Perfect World (Sony Music)
Little Green Cars – Absolute Zero (Universal)
Mano Le Tough – Changing Days Permanent Vacation)
My Bloody Valentine – MBV (MBV Records)
O Emperor – Vitreous (Big Skin)
Lisa O’Neill – Same Cloth or Not (Song Seeds Records)
Villagers – {Awayland} (Domino)

8/10 artists are on Spotify in this playlist. Eight of the albums are on iTunes.

5/10 of my choices made it in but my number one choice didn’t make it in. Overall, it’s a reasonable list. People who give out these kinds of lists, there are 13 judges, so naturally the most-known, often-selected albums will feature. That’s just the way the accumulative process works.

The live show takes place on February 27th in Vicar Street with as many of the artists playing as possible. Tickets on sale at €23.50 plus fees via Ticketmaster on Friday. RTE 2 will also be broadcasting a highlights programme on Sunday March 2nd at 10.30pm.

The Paddy Power bookie odds.

The winning artist on the night will receive €10,000 which has been provided by the Irish Music Rights Organisation (IMRO) and the Irish Recorded Music Association (IRMA). All of the shortlisted acts will receive a specially-commissioned award, courtesy of IMRO and IRMA. Culture Ireland will fund the attendance of key overseas delegates at the event while RAAP and Music Week are also official project partners.

The Judges

John Balfe (
Aidan Butler (RTE Radio One)
Niall Byrne (Nialler9, Irish Independent)
Steve Cummins (Irish Post)
Shilpa Ganatra (Daily Star)
Daniel Gray (Totally Dublin)
Laurence Mackin (Irish Times)
Una Mullally (Irish Times and TG4)
Fin O’Leary (MCD Concerts)
Colm O’Sullivan (Today FM)
Niall Stokes (Hot Press)
Amy McGarrigle (BBC Northern Ireland)
Laura Kirkpatrick (Spotify)

The Meteor Choice Music Prize is in association with IMRO and IRMA.

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.
Become a patron at Patreon!
View Comments (5)

Comments are closed