Now Reading
New release Friday: Kojaque, DJ Shadow, ØXN, King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard, Fizz & more

New release Friday: Kojaque, DJ Shadow, ØXN, King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard, Fizz & more

Here’s a rundown of new releases on DSPs and physical releases in record shops this week.

New Albums

Kojaque – Phantom Of The Afters

After the release of the breakthrough mixtape Deli Daydreams and debut album proper Town’s Dead, the Cabra rapper Kojaque is back with album two.

Biig Piig features on recent single ‘Woof’ , the album guests include  Biig Piig, Hak Baker, WikiCharlotte Dos Santos and Gotts Street Park. Kojaque is embodying the character Jackie Dandelion on the cover of the album and in recent single ‘Cabra Drive’. There was also the single ‘Bambi’ featuring Gotts Street Park.

A full European, UK and Irish tour has also been announced, including Dublin, Cork, Belfast, Galway, Limerick and Kilkenny.

DJ Shadow – Action Adventure

Shadow’s eighth studio album is a return to mostly instrumental collage sample tracks with no featured guests.

“Action Adventure evokes the halcyon days of video store browsing, a fitting title for an album brimming with soundscapes and the menacing, mysterious feel that is laced through all of his work. Making the album, which he started on January 1, 2022, pushed him deeper into his compositional bag than ever before. Though he isn’t classically trained, he asked himself questions like “which chord progression would be most natural here, and which would be least predictable?” and worked according to the inner logic that felt right to him. His rule for the record was simple: no compromises.” ‘You Played Me’


ØXN is the name of the experimental doom folk project from the foursome of Radie Peat (Lankum), Katie Kim, Eleanor Myler (Percolator) and producer John ‘Spud’ Murphy. Their debut song ‘Love Henry’ was first out the blocks, and they’ve announced two live shows in Dublin’s Sugar Club, which quickly sold out.

CYRM is a six-track album featuring traditional folk songs and covers.

Shabazz Palaces – Robed in Rareness

Vocalist and producer Ishmael Butler continues to reimagine hip-hop on a cosmic scale. This LP features collaborations with Seattle’s Royce The Choice and Porter Ray, Colorado Springs’ O Finess, Bronx’s Geechi Suede (of Camp Lo), and Butler’s son, Lil Tracy. ‘Binoculars’

Problem Patterns – Blouse Club

Belfast DIY queer feminist punk band’s debut album on Alcopop! Records. “Problem Patterns are four shouty queers who write songs for right now, swapping roles and instruments to get their point across about whatever angers them this week.” ‘Lesbo 3000’ 

Fizz – The Secret To Life

Fizz are a new band featuring a group of friends who just happen to be established artists in the own rights Fizz includes Irish singer-songwriter Orla Gartland,dodie, Greta Isaac and Martin Luke Brown.

Singles so far have features a psychedelic pop swirl in ‘High In Brighton’ and the gorgeous track ‘Close One’ and three others so far.

Naoise Roo – Emotionally Magnificent

Belfast-based artist Naoise Roo‘s second album Emotionally Magnificent  is preceeded by alternative noir country-tinged song ‘Sacred Cow’ and last week’s classic rock feel ‘Silent Halls’. The album was produced by Liam Mulvaney with assistance from Jamie Hyland (Mhaol) and live players include Daniel Fox on guitar/bass (Gilla Band), Rian Trench (Solar Bears) on drums/synths and Karl Tobin on guitar.

Offica – Hokage (Mixtape)

Nigerian/Irish rapper Offica has an upcoming two-part album, the first –  Hokage in Drogheda (October 27th) focuses on his ‘classic’ sound of anime-infused party drill contrasting with more introspective rap, and part two, titled Hokage in Lagos (November 10th), pushes into a new direction of Afrobeats-infused drill, based on tunes sampling the likes of Wizkid, D’banj and Psquare.

‘Living Proof’, is a track from part one, which has a Dave influence but it also has Yoruba language juxtaposed with Irish slang. ‘Dedication’ also features.

King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard – The Silver Cord

Only the 25th studio album by the Australian psychedelic rock band eschews their regular flavour for electronic instruments, which apparently means “echoes of Kraftwerk, Tangerine Dream, Suicide, and early-’90s acid house.” ‘Theia / The Silver Cord / Set’

Angie McMahon – Light, Dark, Light Again

Melbourne-based indie singer and musician releases “an album about going to the darkest places inside yourself, facing your fears, and learning they can serve as a portal to something bigger and brighter.” ‘Serotonin’

Wild Nothing – Hold

Jack Tatum releases the first Wild Nothing album in five years, Hold, his first since becoming a dad, and first to be produced by himself since his debut Gemini in 2010. ‘Headlights On’ fearturing Hatchie  is a jam.

V V Brown – Am I British Yet?

V V Brown took a six-year break from music to prioritise her mental health and focus on raising her two young children and is back now with experience also as a teacher, activist, and journalist. Black British identity is the theme of Brown’s new project, an exploration of identity and race. ‘Black British’

Sofia Kourtesis – Madres

Berlin-based Peruvian DJ and producer’s debut album on Ninja Tune. Kourtesis broke through with the track ‘By Your Side’  in 2021. She plays Dublin next week, and the album has an interesting backstory.


London-based rapper, producer and director’s debut album on Warp Records, “as much a sci-fi film as it is a rap record, a labyrinth of vice, crime and faded glamour.” ‘Matte Grey Wrap’

Stuart Bogie – Morningside

Bogie has played saxophone, clarinet, and flute with TV On The Radio, Foals, Sharon Van Etten, Beth Orton, Run the Jewels and Antibalas. This 38-minute two-track release on DFA Records produced by James Murphy. The tracks came from COVID times when Stuart had been cooped up in the apartment that he shared with his partner, Karyn, and their family. It was Karyn who suggested a restless Stuart start playing clarinet on Instagram Live every morning, a ritual he kept for 150 straight days. Along the way, he solicited drones and other sounds from his friends as accompaniment. Those pieces form the basis of this album. Bandcamp.

Albums also released today:

  • Taylor Swift – 1989 (Taylor’s Version)
  • The Gaslight Anthem – History Books 
  • The Mountain Goats – Jenny from Thebes 
  • Brent Faiyaz – Larger Than Life
  • Daði Freyr – I Made An Album
  • OMD – Bauhaus Staircase
  • Hinako Omori – stillness, softness​.​.​.
  • Prince and the New Power Generation – Diamonds and Pearls (Super Deluxe Edition)
  • Gazelle Twin – Black Dog
  • The Kills – God Games
  • Kool Keith – World Area
  • Black Pumas – Chronicles of a Diamond
  • Cormac O’Caoimh – Where The World Begins
  • Sundara Karma – Better Luck Next Time
  • Mayer Hawthorne – For All Time
  • Egyptian Blue – A Living Commodity
  • Domo Genesis & Graymatter – What You Don’t Get!?
  • Katie Dey, – Never Falter Hero Girl
  • Duran Duran – Danse Macabre
  • Kölsch – I Talk To Water
  • SIPHO – Prayers and Paranoia
  • Penji – Future Nostalgia

EPs also released today

Fortune Igiebor – Handle With Care EP

Second EP from the Dublin rapper features Jafaris, Kid Kuba, Danzil and Eluna.

Support Nialler9 on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!