Now Reading
Here’s one of my songs of the year: Ships – ‘All Will Be’

Here’s one of my songs of the year: Ships – ‘All Will Be’


One of my favourite Irish bands of the last five years, the disco synth-pop band Ships, Simon Cullen (Music For 18 Machines, Lasertom) and Sorcha McGrath (Wounded Healer) have been carefully toiling away on their debut album for a number of years and now it’s all ready to drop on May 1st.

I’ve heard it. It’s so good. Precession will be up there with one of my favourite albums of the year.

‘All Will Be’ is one of the upbeat highlights from the album (the second teaser after ‘Around This World’), a synth-pop banger with McGrath’s earworm vocals and Cullen’s production lifting it to the next level. I’ve been listening to this non-stop for the last couple of weeks. So good.

All Will Be - Ships

Precession, as a title is “reflective of the subtle shifts over a long arc of time and the album represents an extract of our own experiences within that. Along the way, songs have come and gone, some have come back again and we’ve landed on a collection that we feel represents where we are as musicians and as humans in the world as it is now.”

Ships – Precession Tracklist

1. Golden Rule
2. Around This World
3. I Can Never
4. None of it Real (Featuring Ross Turner on drums)
5. All Will Be
6. Another Way (Featuring John Cowhie)
7. Where We Are (Featuring a solo from Rian Trench)
8. Round and Round
9. Nothing But

The vinyl is available to preorder from Bandcamp.

The album will be available from all the usual digital download and streaming services from May 1st.

Support Nialler9 on Patreon!

Become a patron at Patreon!