Now Reading
The Mary Wallopers announce big Irish headline shows

The Mary Wallopers announce big Irish headline shows

Avatar

After announcing their second album Irish Rock n Roll in July with new single ‘Wexford’ and a rake of tour dates, The Dundalk trad lads are back with more activity on the live and recording front.

The Mary Wallopers will play two big shows in Vicar Street Dublin (Thursday 7th & Friday 8th December) with further shows in Cork City Hall, Cork (December 23rd), The Telegraph Building, Belfast (December 9th) , St Columbs Hall, Derry (December 10th) and more as below.

Thu 7 Dec – Vicar Street, Dublin
Fri 8 Dec – Vicar Street, Dublin
Sat 9 Dec – The Telegraph Building, Belfast
Sun 10th Dec – St Columbs Hall, Derry
Wed 20 Dec – Leisureland, Galway
Thu 21 Dec – Langtons Ballroom, Kilkenny
Fri 22 Dec – Big Top, Limerick
Sat 23 Dec – Cork City Hall, Cork

Tickets on general sale Friday 8th September at 09:30am.
Presale September 6th.


A new single ‘The Blarney Stone’ is also released today ahead of the release of the album on 6th October 2023 on BC Records.

Irish Rock N Roll features ‘The Holy Ground’, a live favourite the Wallopers debuted recentlyIrish Rock N Roll was recorded at Black Mountain Studios by David Noonan and will be available on 12” vinyl, CD and digitally. Pre-order.

The album is also available in a Dinked edition which is for the first time ever available outside the UK in Dublin’s Spindizzy Records. it comes with a pink and black splattered vinyl, signed and with a bonus 7″.

Tracklist below.


Irish Rock N Roll tracklist

1. The Bauld O Donoghue
2. The Holy Ground
3. Rakes of Poverty
4. The Rich Man and the Poor Man
5. The Idler
6. Madam I’m A Darlin’
7. Vultures of Christmas
8. The Turfman from Ardee
9. Hot Asphalt
10. Wexford
11. The Blarney Stone
12. Rothsea O
13. Gates of Heaven

See Also
nilerodgers

The Mary Wallopers were formed by brothers Charles and Andrew Hendy and Sean McKenna  and have since swelled to a seven piece….

Andrew Hendy – banjo
Charles Hendy – guitar
Sean McKenna – guitar
Seamas Hyland – accordion
Finian O’Connor – pipes / whistles
Roisin Barrett – bass
Ken Mooney – drums

The Mary Wallopers tour dates

Fri 21 Jul – Tramlines, Sheffield
Sat 22 Jul -Latitude, Suffolk
Sun 23 Jul  – Truck, Oxford
Fri 28 Jul – Belladrum Tartan Heart, Inverness-shire
Sat 29 Jul – Kendal Calling. Lowther
Sun 30 Jul – Deer Shed, Thirsk
Thu 10 Aug – Boomtown, Winchester
Sat 12 Aug – Guinness Irish Festival, Sion
Fri 18 Aug – Beautiful Days, Exeter
Fri 25 Aug – Victorious, Portsmouth
Sat 26 Aug – Tonder Festival
Fri 1 Sep – End of the Road, Salisbury
Sat 2 Sep – Moseley Folk & Arts Festival
Sun 3 Sep – Electric Picnic, County Laois
Fri 8 Sep – Rotown, Rotterdam,Netherlands 
Sat 9 Sep – Misty Fields, Netherlands 
Sun 10 Sep – Tolhuistuin, Amsterdam, Netherlands 
Thu 14 /  Fri 15 Sep – by:larm, Norway 
Sat 16 Sep – Bar Brooklyn, Stockholm, Sweden 
Sun 17 Sep – Ideal Bar, Copenhagen, Denmark
Tue 19 Sep – Cassiopeia, Berlin, Germany 
Wed 20 Sep – Reeperbahn Festival, Hamburg, Germany 
Thu 21 Sep – Trix Club, Antwerp, Belgium
Wed 8 Nov – Southampton Engine Rooms
Thu 9 Nov – Bristol Trinity
Fri 10 Nov – London O2 Forum Kentish Town
Sat 11 Nov – Manchester Academy 2
Sun 12 Nov – Cardiff Tramshed
Wed 15 Nov – Folkestone Quarterhouse
Thu 16 Nov – Oxford The Bullingdon
Fri 17 Nov – Brighton CHALK
Sat 18 Nov – Liverpool O2 Academy Liverpool
Sun 19 Nov – Norwich Epic Studios
Wed 22 Nov – Exeter Phoenix
Thu 23 Nov – Wolverhampton Wulfrun
Fri 24 Nov – Northampton Roadmender
Sat 25 Nov – Sheffield The Leadmill

Thu 7 Dec – Vicar Street, Dublin
Fri 8 Dec – Vicar Street, Dublin
Sat 9 Dec – The Telegraph Building, Belfast
Sun 10th Dec – St Columbs Hall, Derry

Wed 13 Dec – Edinburgh The Liquid Room
Thu 14 Dec – Dundee Fat Sams
Fri 15 Dec – Aberdeen Lemon Tree
Sat 16 Dec – Glasgow Barrowland Ballroom

Sun 10th Dec – St Columbs Hall, Derry
Wed 20 Dec – Leisureland, Galway
Thu 21 Dec – Langtons Ballroom, Kilkenny
Fri 22 Dec – Big Top, Limerick
Sat 23 Dec – Cork City Hall, Cork


Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.
Become a patron at Patreon!