Tracks of the Week playlist

1. Caribou – ‘Can Do With You’

Opening track from new album Our Love mixes soulful dance bliss with psychedelic atmospherics. It’s getting more epic with every listen.

2. Banks – ‘Drowning’

Pretty consumed by this song weeks after it was posted. The single is released on iTunes Monday. Banks is playing Longitude, oh yes indeed.

3. Tomas Barfod – ‘Busy Baby’ feat. Nina K

The album is out today, as featured here, from Danish musician and Whomadewho member, whose fruitful partnership with Nina K has resulted in this fine track.

4. God Knows + mynameisjOhn – ‘Standard’

A brilliant grimey hip-hop collaborative album via Clare, Zimbabwe and Limerick. Great Irish hip-hop alert.

5. Giorgio Moroder – ‘Giorgio’s Theme’

Adult Swim are back with their annual summer singles series of original tracks from actually good artists and holy hell, they’ve only got Mr. Moroder, the originator of much of the electronic synth sound to offer up a new track. Free download next week.

6. Princess – ‘Neverlook’

New single from Dublin band, ‘Neverlook’  has a reverb-drenched ’80s noise-rock vibe to it with room for melody and a big drum sound. A good introduction or pique of interest for any new band.

7. Wild Promises –  ‘Ballymore’

A beautiful video by Colm Russell for a beautiful song. Wild Promises play State’s Faces of June this Saturday in the Mercantile.

8. TALA – ‘On My Own In Hua Hin’ 

Third track from The Duchess EP and it’s 3/3 for the English/Iranian musician.

9. JUDE. – ‘Jaded’

Their first song sounded a lot like Lorde, this new one from the Florida duo reaches further.

10. Roses Gabor – ‘Rush’

SBTRKT album collaborator returns with her first new single since 2012’s ‘Stars’, this time produced by MNEK.

Posted on June 6th, 2014

Artists: , , ,

ARTWORK: 400 Facts.

ARTWORK: 400 Facts.

We promise a podcast every month in 2013. It’s our new blog resolution. Here’s the first of the year and the forty-second Podcast in the series. Aoife Mc and I talk about, and play some of my favourite tunes of the last few months. Artwork inspired by Frank B’s ‘Chain Of Fools’ as heard on this episode.

Podcast #42 -Tracklisting

  1. Katy B feat. Jessie Ware – ‘Aaliyah’ (Danger EP)
  2. Sinkane – ‘Jeeper Creeper’ (Mars)
  3. Flume – ‘Sleepless’ feat. Jezzabelle Doran (Flume)
  4. Frank B – ‘Chain Of Fools’ (Download)
  5. Roses Gabor – ‘Stars’
  6. Melt Yourself Down – ‘We Are Enough’
  7. Sea Pinks – ‘Following Wind’ (Freak Waves)
  8. dÉbruit – ‘Ou est Wind’s Seagulls’ Mweslee Remix  (From The Horizon remixed)
  9. Theo Parrish & Andrew Ashong – ‘Flowers’
  10. Ryan Hemsworth – ‘Overthinking’ Supreme Cuts remix (Last Words EP)
  11. Chelsea Wolfe – ‘Sunstorm’ (Unknown Rooms: A collection of acoustic songs)
  12. Jessica Pratt – ‘Night Faces’ (Jessica Pratt)

MP3: Nialler9 Podcast #42


Posted on January 20th, 2013

Artists: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Insomniax debut EP The Love She Wants EP went under the radar the first time around I posted about them despite the high calibre of urban London sounds and Roses Gabor on guest vocals. For the current remix EP, Kai Gama and Dr Sydney Velvet drafted in the Rooty Toot Manuva for a special version of the EP standout ‘Friday Comes’. Hang around after in the playlist for Willows’ Bobby Evans and Swede:art remixes too.

Posted on December 11th, 2012

Artists: , ,

Roses Gabor’s hushed and cooed soulful timbre was one of three feminine voices on SBRKT’s debut album on the track ‘Pharoahs’. As Jessie Ware went from small-time collaborator to full-blown Sade-esque critically acclaimed diva, Gabor added Buraka Som Sistema, The Insomniax and Jakwob to her list of collaborators (she was also the female voice on Gorillaz’ ‘Dare’ way back).

But her voice is one that deserves its own place and ‘Stars’ her debut single produced by Redlight is a great first spotlight, a slice of live-wire club soul with twisted vocals with nods to dubstep rhythm. It’s released on Toddla T’s label, Girls Music and Ninja Tune.

Video by Natalia Stuyk.

Posted on October 16th, 2012


Artists: ,

A super-fun dancing kuduro tune from Portugal’s Buraka Som Sistema’s forthcoming album Komba (due October 28-30th depending on where you live). You’ll know Roses Gabor from her work with SBTRKT and Blaya’s own tunes can be found here. I have had a brief listen to Komba today – it’s proper party record.

(We Stay) Up All Night feat. Blaya & Roses Gabor by burakasomsistema

Posted on September 26th, 2011


Artists: ,