Now Reading
New releases out today: CMAT, Mary Wallopers, The Streets, L’Rain, Westside Gunn & more

New releases out today: CMAT, Mary Wallopers, The Streets, L’Rain, Westside Gunn & more

Here’s a rundown of new releases on DSPs and physical releases in record shops this week.

New Albums

CMAT – Crazymad, For Me

Second album from the Irish country-tinged pop star makes good on her debut album with “abstract break-up album” featuring songs of a wider scope and depth, about similar things – asshole boyfriends, with pop culture references and heartbreak smarts. Singles include ‘Stay For Something’, ‘Where Are Your Kids Tonight?’‘Have Fun!’ and ‘Whatever’s Inconvenient‘. A NY Times profile was publsihed this week. CMAT is on tour in UK and Ireland this November and December.

The Mary Wallopers – Irish Rock n Roll

The second album from the Dundalk trad pintmen and women, has swelled to a seven-piece band both live and on record. The second album, Irish Rock N Roll is preceded by the ballad ‘Wexford’, ‘The Blarney Stone’ and live favourite ‘The Holy Ground’ and ‘The Idler’.. Irish headline shows

L’Rain – I Killed Your Dog

Brooklyn experimental genre-fluid artist Taja Cheek aka L’Rain’s third album on Mexican Summer. ‘New Year’s Unresolution’ closures the record, which thematically “considers what it means to hurt the people you love the most,” or an “anti-break-up” album. The LP was made with Andrew Lappin and Ben Chapoteau-Katz.

The Streets – The Darker The Shadow The Brighter The Light

Mike Skinner’s first album from The Streets in 12 years arrives with a feature film; ‘Troubled Waters’ / Dublin & Belfast shows

MUNYA – Jardin

Not to be confused with MUNA, Munya is Montreal artist Josie Boivin whose slinky pop single ‘Un Deux Trois’ is a tribute to electronic music pioneer Giorgio Moroder.

Holly Humberstone – Paint My Bedroom Black

British singer songwriter Holly Humberstone’s long-awaited debut album. ‘Into Your Room’

Gotts Street Park – On The Inside

Leeds jazz instrumentalists and producers’s debut album features ft. ENNY, Rosie Lowe, Pip Millett and more. I think of theses lads like an English BadBadNotGood. ‘Tell Me Why’

Vernon Jane – Chestpains And Sidepieces

Irish alt-rock act with the jazz-punk sound release their second album. ‘Origami’

Reylta – Everything Unsaved Will Be Lost

Debut album from the Galway alt-folk musician who describes it as a “macabre lullaby.” ‘Holy’

Zaska – Live In Dublin

Live album from Wicklow guitarist and bandleader recorded at Dublin gigs between 2019 and 2022. Features Tolu Makay, Jess Kav, Loah and Melina Malone.

Jordan Adetunji – Rock’n’Rave (mixtape)

Belfast artist’s nine-track mixtape features introspective rap, hyperpop, punk, and jersey club music. ‘Rock ‘N’ Rave’ is a new sound to me and explains this tape for what it is. It’s a display of emotions and feelings. It’s about overcoming struggle and hardship and I feel like I show the rawest display of emotion on this tape as well as happiness. It’s a show of all emotions.”

MIKE – Burning Desire

The 24-track record from the American rapper features Earl Sweatshirt, Liv.e, Crumb’s Lila Ramani, and more. ‘What U Say U Are’


Gunn said this one will be his last. Has he not been saying that for 3 years? This one features Giggs, DJ Drama, Conway The Machine, Rick Ross, Ty Dolla $ign, Denzel Curry and more. Anyway, here’s a compilation of his adlibs.

Spencer Krug – I Just Drew This Knife

New album from the prolific Canadian artist (it’s pronounced Kroog) made in tandem with Eli Browning and Jordan Koop. Bandcamp.

Jamila Woods – Water Made Us

Chicago musician and poet. ‘Practice (ft. Saba)’

Helena Deland – Goodnight Summerland 

Canadian art pop musician. Bandcamp.

George Houston – Vehicular Suicide

Third album from the Donegal singer-songwriter. ‘Pain’

Albums also released today:

Offset – SET IT OFF

Bad Bunny – nadie sabe lo que va a pasar mañana

Metric – Formentera II 

Troye Sivan – Something To Give Each Other

Katie Gregson-MacLeod – Big Red

Will Joseph Cook – NOVELLA

Guilty Simpson – Escalation

The Drums – Jonny

EP & 12″ Releases

The Fae – Bloodrush EP

Shoegaze and jangly indie pop 5-track release from new Irish trio, previously featured.

CBAKL – Former Blessings EP

Four-track EP from Northern Irish producer features Leo Miyagee, Curtisy, Bricknasty and Alicia Raye.

Geese – 4D Country EP

5-track EP from the Brooklyn alt-rock band.

Boygenius – The Rest EP

Four-track addendum to The Record album.

Support Nialler9 on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!