Now Reading
The best new tracks of the week

The best new tracks of the week


Tracks of the Week playlist

1. The Casanova Wave – ‘New Sensation’ (feat. Biggles Flys Again)

Waterford’s Brian McCartan produces a more nuanced pop gem along with the help of Conor Deasy, eschewing his disposition for pure optimism for something more nutritious and rewarding.

2. Lil Silva – ‘Don’t You Love’ featuring Banks

On the EP, ‘Right For You’ sticks closer to the early Banks template with the pair duetting, while ‘Don’t You Love’, a sweet melodic hypnotic turn with jagged edges sounding the most well-rounded and complete vision of the pair working together on Silva’s terms.


3. Mr Twin Sister – ‘Blush’

It’s a luscious dreamy string-laden song that recalls the work of their earlier EPs which is fitting as the band say they returned to the creative process of those records, where they worked as individuals or small groups. Andrea Estella sings “is there really a real me / or am I just a series of nights?” to a noir-dream backing.


4. Nick Hakim – ‘I Don’t Know’

Washington-born Brooklyn-based singer and Maxwell-supporting artist Nick Hakim’s new song has a James Vincent McMorrow R&B feel to it with extra influence from jazz. It’s from his upcoming EP Where Will We Go Part 2 out on September 16th.

5. Future Islands – ‘Doves’ (Vince Clarke Remix)

The man from Erasure/Yazoo/Depeche Mode takes a stab at remixing Samuel T. Herring and band.

6. ‘Cloud Castle Lake’ – Sync

On ‘Sync’, McAuley’s high falsetto has a more natural fit to his own band’s ornate arrangement (plus Cosmos’ Ross Turner on drums). The song grows from brass tones through percussive passages to a peak of rhythmic almost jazz-rock. It’s evidence that all that time spent being coy and shy with their material in the intervening years was definitely a good move, as while technically, the song is on their debut release, there is combined years of experience heard here.


7. Kiasmos – ‘Burnt’

A preview of Iceland’s Ólafur Arnalds and Janus Rasmussen new electronic EP.

8. Vaults – ‘Lifespan’

Londoners Vaults made an aural impression with ‘Cry No More’, a strident epic song built atop bell melodies and strings and the lifted by the singer. For their new single, ‘Lifespan’, on Virgin EMI, the creation of a similar atmosphere is deployed with a melancholic vocal over cool electronics adds to something greater.


Vaults - Lifespan (Official Music Video)

9. Mmoths – ‘Santo’

Kildare’s Jack Colleran offers a new track before his 2015 debut album comes out.

10. Dashka – ‘Stand Tall’ Feat. Stellar C

A Cork producer known for deep house productions releases a subtler downtempo electronic EP.

Hey, before you go...

Nialler9 has been covering new music, new artists and gigs for the last 18 years. If you like the article you just read, and want us to publish more just like it, please consider supporting us on Patreon.

What you get as thanks in return...

  • A weekly Spotify playlist only for patrons.
  • Access to our private Nialler9 Discord community
  • Ad-free and bonus podcast episodes.
  • Guestlist & discounts to Nialler9 & Lumo Club events.
  • Themed playlists only for subscribers.
  • Your support enables us to continue to publish articles like this one, make podcasts and provide recommendations and news to our readers.
Become a patron at Patreon!